A Haunting in Georgia

I found a burlap sack.

I placed all my grief, frustrations, self-hate, more grief, tears, the odd chemical in my brain which brings me to my knees, and my weakness in that burlap bag. I tied the bag with some twine and buried it under a huge oak tree.

Good fertilizer, I thought.

That tree stood strong.

It laughed at the howling wind and torrential rain.

And still….that tree stood strong.

I had to dig up that bag to see if it made the tree so strong.

What I found was rotting grief, frustration, self-hate, more grief, an odd chemical that will bring a person to their knees, and weakness.

So, I buried it again. In a metal box, with a lock. I buried it so deep that I would never be tempted to dig it up again.

That tree stood strong in spite of the chaos in the environment and the garbage buried near its roots.

Can I do that?

I don’t know, I’m not a tree.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Depression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Haunting in Georgia

  1. joey says:

    Poignant. Beautifully written, but painful to imagine. ❤

  2. Oh but dear lady, in your heart you are. More strength than the giant sequoia, as graceful as a willow, and as much love as all of them as we go into nature and ‘feel’ their beauty and peace…simply by just being you.
    Trust that heart, accept what was, what is, and what will come. It is guiding you within…and in there is something so wonderful.
    You’re ‘testing’ yourself by digging under the tree, which is building that strength because at times it no longer touches you, but in the times that it does, it also shows you how to be like that tree…and not let it touch you, even as the elements howl around you 😀
    This post is so beautifully and powerfully written…if I didn’t know better I would say your higher self just had a chat with you…are you listening April? ❤

  3. This was brilliant April. Funny though, I took it to be that the reason the tree flourished was BECAUSE all of those things rotted and turned to fertilizer. I think it is possible. Not because you are a tree, but because the tree is a metaphor to you. You continue to grow and be strong.

Comments are closed.