Getting My Gutters Cleaned

Today we are having our gutters cleaned. My husband would usually do it himself but we live in a house with a very steep pitch to our roof. Since we have a basement the back part of the house is three stories tall. We leave the unclogging of the gutters to the professionals. It’s something we should have already taken care of and has now become a better do it chore before the Spring/Summer thunderstorms.

Wouldn’t it be nice if someone could hook up some kind of machine to the ears to clear the gutters? Blow out all the thoughts that are blocking or stagnant, preventing growth.

Thoughts for my topic of blogging used to come from what I read. Reading is such a wonderful way to utilize that space between the ears.

I haven’t been reading. Not much. I read instructions or recipes but have trouble concentrating on what I’m about to absorb. I use absorb loosely, because I have had a terrible memory because I haven’t been exercising my mind. Other than to figure out why I seem to be so miserable and how can I get through it, my mind stays relatively free of substantive thoughts. The only thing I’ve recently read that is taking it’s time to move through my mind, was an article about antidepressants shortening a lifespan. I freaked out and have not dug further for any backup articles to prove this “finding”.

So, what have I been doing? Heck if I know. Each day is a gift to me since my wakeup call upon learning I had cancer. Why am I wasting the days?

I find my reading limited to Facebook posts…at least the posts I want to read. Avoiding the news has been rather difficult because I have a sick sense of worrying about things I don’t have control over. I do what I can to change things and have to be satisfied with that.

However, I did find a distraction. Instead of listening to the ass elected to run our country, I have been watching the ass of April-the-forever-pregnant-giraffe located in a zoo in New York. They have had a live feed to watch in anticipation of the big birth day.

Still waiting…….and waiting. I suppose if I were about to have a 100-150 pound baby, I’d resist for as long as I could.

Well, I’m off to clean the gutters in my mind, on my own, by focusing on at least one article.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting My Gutters Cleaned

  1. mewhoami says:

    Thank you for not taking on the gutters yourselves. It used to terrify me knowing that my parents, sometimes my mother alone, were up on the roof doing that. Although I guess the gutters in our mind can be just as scary at times. It’s funny that you mention reading to exercise the mind. I went to the library yesterday looking to get a ‘real’ book with an educational foundation to strengthen my mind and also help me in my career, but they had none. I was very disappointed and left empty handed. How can a library have such a small quantity of books? With that aside, you are right that every day is a gift and it’s so wonderful that we’ve all been given another one.

  2. Glynis Jolly says:

    The news about the pregnant giraffe sounds so much more entertaining than that ugly man in the White House. Obviously, better looking too.

    As for longevity of life, I figure I would not be enjoying a little more I would have without my serenity pill. I want to make the most of whatever time I have. I cannot do that without the medication.

  3. I laughed so hard at your comment on ‘you would resist birth as long as you could too if you were having a 150lb baby’. I needed that laugh, thank you kind lady πŸ˜€
    As for your not being able to concentrate too much…for such a lovely post, you’ve done brilliantly. I haven’t even put one together for some time, so you have me beat hands down πŸ˜€

  4. joey says:

    I watched a different giraffe birth video the other day, and found it VERY satisfying πŸ™‚
    We seem to alternate cleaning our own gutters and hiring out. We have a low pitch, but that doesn’t mean we like to climb on it. For a few years, The Mister worked homeowner claims and had to climb all sortsa roofs. It is not his favorite. 😦

  5. Gallivanta says:

    My gutters are growing grass! They were supposed to be cleaned a couple of weeks ago. We get someone to do them because they are difficult to access. It would be nice if one could get someone to clean one’s mind gutters, but that’s a dirty job one can’t outsource. 😦

  6. I just went out on the various roofs to clean out my gutters which I doubt got cleaned at all last year. Never want to do that again. It was terrifying and disgusting, in that order. I did force myself to face a fear of falling off the roof and sticking my hand in decomposing muck, so I guess that was a positive to this experience. Would be nice to face some internal fears and muck too, stagnant thoughts pooling up don’t do anyone any good.

Comments are closed.