Sunday With April

Would you eat a grub if you knew it would cure something…..like depression? You know, one of these…

Oh! I certainly would. I’d add a little Sriacha sauce, wash it down with one of my favorite beers, and I’d be good to go. I’d do it so fast most heads would spin.

Instead, I’m given pricey may-or-may-not-work vitamins, pills that reek of chemicals, or options for treatments that scare me more than depression.

…..and yet, I’ve procrastinated about getting my physical body in shape. Perhaps I know that exercise isn’t the answer to end my depression/bipolar disorder but I know it will help. So why do I resist something that will build confidence to continue fighting, but swallow any new and improved antidepressant “cure”?

Exercise is going to have to be my grub.

A big, fat, juicy grub.

What did I find this week to make me smile?

  • conversations with our youngest son’s girlfriend
  • beginning to read again (I’ve pretty much neglected any sort of reading)
  • minion themed socks
  • the brief moment we thought we were going to become empty nesters again

It was pretty much a ho-hum kind of week. I need to get out more because we have bits of Spring in the air.

I hope you find something to make you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Depression, Grattitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday With April

  1. Glynis Jolly says:

    I do have to admit that exercise does help. It, somehow, gives you energy, which wards off the blues. I do moderate exercise at least five days a week. It does help.

  2. Exercise can be so hard. This is where being hyper has actually benefitted me through the years. I don’t mind exercising (usually) & see almost instant emotional benefits. Still…I have enough friends and family members who hate it that I get that I’m a sort of an oddity. I
    Also used to work at a weight-loss center & saw first hand how many people resisted it. Add to it, after I had mono I simply had zero energy & four years later it’s just coming back (somewhat). I have a
    Mini eliptical that I got for $80
    On Amazon that helps me in the dreary winter months. It fits nicely in a corner & I can pull it out & hop
    On while watching tv. Daily baby steps seem to help those who don’t love it the most. You can do it! (On phone, please ignore the weird formatting. Ugh)

  3. I hope, that exercise will help you too April, for me it did the difference and after that, it only went the right way.

    • April says:

      It’s about the only thing I haven’t tried for years. I have worked in my yard, weeding and always feel better but I’m recognizing that I need more. I’m happy to hear from someone who has benefited from exercise to help with the mind.

      • I used a cross-machine back then and started with few minutes and then went up with 5-10 minutes extra every time, 3 days a week. After a while, I was able to do more than one hour and then I felt so good mentally. I hope, that you will feel the help too.

  4. joey says:

    I know the exercise helps with anxiety, I can’t speak personally about the depression, but I suspect it’s worth a decent trial. Doctors say it helps, so…
    Minion socks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am ALL ABOUT fun socks ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The sun….and the very proven ability of the Vitamin D that it gives you, a very good fighter of depression etc. Winter tends to keep us all covered up from the cold and it has also proven to be a depression builder because of the long months of less light and sun.
    Enjoy that drug, your body is the one that synthesize’s it beautifully…they can’t arrest you for that one April ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Minion socks made me smile.

  7. Elouise says:

    Your big fat juicy exercise grub made me smile. ๐Ÿ˜Š
    But your brief moment when you thought you were going to be empty-nesters made me hoots out loud! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

Comments are closed.