Sunday With April

thoughts locked inside

it’s what I do

the person misrepresented

is known by few

can you hear the screams?

Silence

nothing is as it seems

look into my eyes

do you see the war inside?

look beyond the glaze

right there

the thoughts I hide

Okay, enough of my amateurish poetry. I have a lot going on in my mind–as I said yesterday.

As a person who doubts everyone and everything, our new president has had me on my toes. I see what he’s doing….he’s distracting us with outlandish comments and contradictions while wheeling and dealing behind the scenes. Watch him, and read what he’s using his pen for. He’s sticking thorns on the rose, pick your thorn and fight for what is right for your world. Oh, and call your representatives! If you’re happy with what you see….embrace the thorns if that’s what floats your boat.

This past week has been a week of mental flogging but I’m learning from it. The most important lesson is that I’m in control of those thoughts. However, I have to release them somewhere. Hahaha! It’s like a repeal of thoughts but I have positive replacements.

The following made me smile this week:

  • Dog shenanigans
  • Dairy Queen Blizzards
  • Wearing socks to sleep in during the brief winter
  • A rare, long conversation with our youngest
  • Looking at the sky, watching the clouds, thinking about how long that sky has been here and how many before me have lied on their backs and stared at the same scene. I imagine the dinosaurs didn’t pay much attention but I’ll bet our ancestors did.
  • Planning a trip to help our daughter choose a wedding dress. I think I’m going to need a few winter clothes for the trip
  • Making four trips from the basement to the top floor of our house. It was a struggle due to my physical shape but I had a huge smile for that final step
  • I exercised three days this week

I hope you find something to make you smile!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday With April

  1. aviets says:

    I love your poetry and your thoughts. Especially the one about watching the sky and imagining those who went before us doing the same. That’s very grounding, somehow. Hugs!

  2. Glynis Jolly says:

    It’s funny you should mention Dairy Queen Blizzards. This morning husband and I did a quick shopping trip to Walmart. On the way home, he asked if I’d like a Blizzard. My lunch was a Brownie Blizzard.

    Your poetry is beautiful. Maybe you should write more of it.

  3. Very well expressed April, and thank you for sharing your journey! 😀
    My smile was from a black, white and red butterfly said hello to me this morning…so I watched her drifting in the breeze.
    It was a very beautiful moment…because I stopped and let this world go…that cacophony going around inside my mind…and felt a true peace, a beautiful peace for just a while as she showed me the secret of the universe….just be me 😀

  4. CAROL GARNER says:

    Love you April…Going to Montana sounds fun..enjoy. xoxoxo

  5. mewhoami says:

    Your daughter is getting married? How exciting! Glad you found some positive things in your week.

Comments are closed.