It’s a Forkin’ Utensil

We all have our odd quirks. Some may suffer from obsessive compulsive disorder–and that isn’t funny, or odd–it must be frustrating. In fact, I have been told I have obsessive tendencies. Well duh. Negative thoughts or berating oneself, in my non-professional opinion, are obsessive. I would say it is obsessive compulsive but I have only been diagnosed with obsessive tendencies.

Anyway, when I was a youngster with my own job, each payday I would buy something for my, when-I-reach-18-and-move-out, place. I would squirrel the items away until that day came. I had a lovely collection of late 1970s artifacts, one of which included a set of dinnerware (knives, forks, spoons….)

Much of my 1970s stuff has gone by the wayside. I’m not sure where it went but I have bits and pieces of my original purchases.

Of my dinnerware, I have two forks left. They are my forks. They do not go into the dishwasher because, well…..I only have two and I have to hand wash for the next use. I can’t wait until the dishwasher is full enough for a cycle, I would have to wait through too many meals for a clean fork.

Weird quirk, right?

My kids and husband know not to use my forks. My two perfect forks that can stab a pea or a piece of lettuce. Pasta doesn’t have a chance against my forks.

Then someone shares dinner with us and I have to hide my forks so that they don’t use them. Or, friends of the vampire in the basement come over and they pack their fuel to the basement on my dishes and don’t return them until lovely science experiments have covered the beauty of my chipped dishes. The worst personal horror is when they pilfer my forks and they are stuck inside the science experiments.

Well now, I have no wrap-it-up ending except to say that I embrace my quirks. It’s what makes me, me. If the horror of someone else using my forks is another diagnosed mental disorder, then so be it.

They’re mine! All mine!

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s a Forkin’ Utensil

  1. aviets says:

    Hahahahaha – I totally get it! And your fork story reminds me of something from my childhood that was sort of the opposite. We had pet hamsters for years, and I generally was the one who had the clean the cages. But I didn’t do it as often as I should have, and the bedding at the bottom of the cage was inevitably caked and disgusting. We had one large serving spoon that was a different pattern than all our others, and that was what I always used to chip the bedding out of the cage. But I had horrors imagining us ever using that spoon to serve food, and I didn’t want my mom to know I was using it. So I hid the spoon at the back of the drawer, and if I ever saw that someone had moved it I quickly put it in the dishwasher to get it out of service. So devious!

  2. Haha, that’s how I feel about my Dr who coffee mug. It’s my mug and there are plenty others for people who aren’t me to use. When my former mother in law put it in the dishwasher and ruined it I actually cried and refused to throw it away. Many people tried to replace it but I bought it for myself in a little British shop in FL and none of the new ones are quite the same so I keep using my old, peeling one and leave the others for company. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having something that’s just yours.

  3. I think, that all of us have something, as we don’t feel for sharing with others, April. I have had mugs, as I had only for me, they were specially bought only for me. In same way I also bought mugs and glasses earlier, only for my kids to use.

    • April says:

      I have some new drinking glasses that I haven’t put on the shelf. I’m afraid that my youngest son or one of his friends will break one. So they sit in a box under my bed 🙂

  4. joey says:

    I understand. My husband had a thing for our picnic flatware for a while.

  5. Bradley says:

    I’m the same way regarding my Eeyore coffee mug. It’s not mine just because Eeyore’s on it. It’s mine because it’s the perfect size and shape for me.

  6. That’s funny April, I could swear we all have them. And they are all different 😀
    I have MY shoes that I expect no one else to wear…mind you, in your case if you have a daughter I could imagine her ‘growing up’ to want to ‘borrow’ yours occasionally 😀
    And most certainly what one regards as ‘unusual’, another has no problems with. It is when ‘we’ think it is unusual that we need to look deeper. If your uncomfortable, its usually because we think ‘others’ aren’t looking kindly towards us. I like to have ‘my’ stuff…we all do. You are just a little more focused on them…or are you? If I take my moms wine glass (to drink orange juice out of), that is the equivalent of blasphemy 😀 Does that make her different…really. If it did, we’d all be classified and tagged 😀
    I thank the Lord that this world ‘does’ have many different and varied people, and yes, even the ones that think they can fly by jumping off a cliff…they show us…us! All of them!
    Have a great day April, if they have meaning for you, may your forks follow you wherever you may go 😀

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Mine is just as odd as your but in a slightly different way. There are two sets of silverware in the kitchen, both super cheap. Got them both at Walmart, yet the pattern is slightly different on one from the other. I like one set better than the other, naturally. I save the set I like for dinner. Eating at any other time, the other set MUST be used.

    Quirky to the max! O-o

  8. They ARE yours, love your spunk in this post April! ❤
    Diana xo

  9. It is NOT weird!!!! We have certain forks and spoons we each like and I will make sure “I” have them if there are others looking for them!!!!

  10. mewhoami says:

    Ha! I totally get this. There are things that are ours and ours alone. Such as my pillow. Don’t touch my pillow. 🙂

  11. Cathy Bohlae says:

    You so amuse me April. And I don’t know how many times I see myself in your posts. I have a couple of spoons of my families and love them especially the soup spoon that is just a bit bigger than the rest. Others may us it but it is okay. Also I did the buy stuff to move out and actually still have a couple of glasses from the big box that I bought from Kmart in about 1976 or 1977! hugs to you always….

    • April says:

      My kids keep joking with me about the things I hang onto. I have a blender that is 40 years old. It still works and I see no reason to replace it until it breaks. Things just aren’t made the same these days.

  12. reocochran says:

    April, I like the way you expressed yourself in this post which was just declaring what’s yours!
    When I started collecting “my” stuff it went in boxes with my name on it. There was a bank in the late sixties (not sure which one?) where you could “earn” crystal. Every deposit of $100, you would get a piece. I have only broken about five of a set of probably 30. I love the fact I have appertif crystal but only if four want an after dinner liqueur. 🙂
    But the silverware drawer is a mismatch which is so challenging when I have a few people over! My obsession (preoccupation) becomes everyone’s must match in front of them. Side by side doesn’t matter if totally different. 🙂
    Happy belated new beginnings, April! We have plenty of time to enjoy, be healthy, happy and wise in 2017! hugs xo

    • April says:

      I used to get glasses when I bought a taco at Taco Time. Those had cartoons on them and I’m not sure where they went 🙂

      • reocochran says:

        Cartoons on glasses sound fun and collectable! I like glasses from different places, April. 🙂 I gave away my Cedar Point amusement park glasses last Christmas to someone else who worked there. I still have two Christmas glasses from a cheap steak place called Ponderosa. (Two broke, though…)

  13. angyjenks says:

    They belong to you.. like my DVD collection that my son walk out one by one leaving the case empty so I thought they were still in there.. 😂😂 There’s nothing crazy about that.. nothing at all..

  14. Elouise says:

    Great post, April! I also have my 🍴 and deeply resent it if someone else uses them! Your treasure trove of adult stuff made me laugh, too! Since I’m currently trying to stay awake after a less-than stellar night, I’m particularly happy about that! 😁

  15. reocochran says:

    I just came through a few posts and wasn’t able to comment on. This one we had a great conversation!
    April, you inspire me, help me so much to understand individual thinking, challenges in mindset and the difficulty of anxiety and (hope this is okay to say) elements of depression. I am past my six months with Calisto. I really think you are special, which helps me so much to be patient and caring towards my boyfriend. Big hugs sent your way! I am still more of a weekend blogger, sport I don’t keep up well. You have lovely posts, really! 🙂 xo

Comments are closed.