Reflections on Sunday With April

I don’t have a list….well, not a long one. I have no resolutions, simply goals. I’m not sad to say goodbye to 2016 because I gained a lot of knowledge. (And our daughter got engaged!)

There have been up moments and some extremely rough, down moments but I kept moving. Some days it may have only consisted of breathing to make it through the day, but I was successful.

I reached my 5-year cancer free mark.

I’m alive!

Yes, I’m alive and that is something to make me smile.

I hope you find something to be grateful for today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Reflections on Sunday With April

  1. aviets says:

    I’m grateful for you!

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    FIVE YEARS CANCER FREE! April, I am SO happy for you. What an amazing milestone for you. I send you so many HUGS. And I’m incredibly grateful that you are alive, because I have learned so much from you.

    • April says:

      I’m still having a hard time accepting the 5-year thing. Lung cancer is a different beast, and my trust of most doctors is lacking.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        I can understand because I have no trust with doctors either. One thing that my therapist told me was to remember AND instead of BUT. So it’s not “it’s five years cancer free, but I don’t trust those doctors to know what the frufru they are talking about!” … the “but” invalidates the validity of the first part of the statement.
        “It’s five years cancer free, and I don’t trust those doctors to know what the frufru they are talking about!” Both parts of the statement are true, and both can exist at the same time.
        HUGS

  3. smilecalm says:

    i’m happy you’re here, April
    to witness & brighten up
    this brand new year!
    smiles, david πŸ™‚

  4. April says:

    Sweet April, CONGRATS on the daughters engagement and five years cancer free. We have a coworker with breast cancer who decided on a holistic approach to cancer vs. Medical treatment. It’s been sad to watch her in pain, and not do well but I am trying to be respectful of her wishes and not say anything. It’s been hard to watch though.

    • April says:

      I think it would be a hard decision. I was fortunate to have caught mine early and surgery was an option. I didn’t have to have radiation or chemo and I hope the surgery got it and I don’t have something sneak up on me. I lost two friends to cancer since my surgery. I almost wonder if their pain with the toxic treatments made life more bearable….they sure suffered.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Congrats on the five-year mark! I’m expecting you to make it another five years too. πŸ˜‰
    Any resolutions or goals I make are at a moments notice and I feel I must act on them immediately. On New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day, I’m not thinking of things like that because I’ve already started working on them.

  6. bmagpub says:

    Some great news April. Exciting news with the engagement. Fantastic 5 year milestone! I am grateful for each day, and the promise of opportunity it brings, if only to smile, and not be worse than yesterday. Wishing you a lovely year.

  7. And what a beautiful thing to hold in your heart April….yes, you are alive, in more ways than one πŸ˜€

  8. joey says:

    Five years cancer free is fantastic! That puts an extra dose of happy in my day πŸ™‚

  9. Congratulations April. Your very short list is my favorite list of yours. πŸ™‚

  10. Cathy says:

    I.really enjoy you and your blog. Happy for you new member of the family. Would live to see you when you are in the area. Hugs and you seem to be doing well or at least know what that should look.like for you. Your friend, Cathy

    • April says:

      I’m really doing well. I just hope to change my focus. More on the good I have on the inside instead of the bad. I’ll let you know when we are up there!

  11. Now that is a great Milestone to achieve.. Yaaaaaah…… Well done you.. And I never now make resolutions.. πŸ™‚ Just take one day at a time… xxx Hugs to you and wishing you a Very Happy New Year. xxx

  12. reocochran says:

    I am sure this past five years have been long but so so glad they are over because this is an AWESOME milestone to be cancer-FREE!!
    Happy wishes to your daughter and her fiance. This was a big smile making post. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.