Close Your Eyes

Every Christmas and birthday my husband has asked me what I want. My response, an orange tabby cat. That’s many years of responding the same way and never receiving that gift.

On Christmas Eve, 2007, my kids rescued a cat that was on his way to the animal shelter if a home couldn’t be found for him. They brought home the cutest, fuzzy kitten. Not an orange tabby but that was okay. He is one Christmas present I won’t soon forget.

When they brought him inside, I thought something was wrong with him. He wouldn’t open his eyes. He finally became comfortable and opened them, and I fell in love.

Every time we take Maverick to the vet, he keeps his eyes closed. Our daughter and I have a theory…..he keeps his eyes closed because he thinks it makes him invisible. All of his fears disappear.

Wouldn’t it be nice if all we had to do was close our eyes?

I’m going to try it. If it doesn’t work then I’m crawling under the coffee table because he thinks he’s invisible under there as well.

Oh, and that orange tabby cat remains at the top of my list.

Along with a late night (for us) Seattle Seahawks win, Maverick is what I found beautiful yesterday.

I hope you find something beautiful today.

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Close Your Eyes

  1. Sometimes our beauties show us the way, at least they are great to calm us, when needed April 🙂

  2. Glynis Jolly says:

    That is so cute. I wish my youngest cat, Nutty, would do that instead of running to another room every time she gets just a little scared.

  3. aviets says:

    I think that’s a very clever cat.

  4. angyjenks says:

    Let me know if it works too.. I enjoyed reading that..😊 I hope you get your cat..

  5. Most certainly finding something beautiful April, my ability to truly ‘see’ my journey for what it is….a self love as we look and see that what we go through has great purpose…so that we can find that love within. As hard as it gets, it is the only way to discover and appreciate ourselves, because of that journey.
    Merry Christmas, may your hard ‘bits’ show you great love 😀

  6. joey says:

    That’s a lovely thought. I think I’ll envy Maverick that. Precious, simple, smart.

    • April says:

      Oh, he’s not very smart. He doesn’t have the cat part down very well. He can’t jump and he is cross-eyed most of the time. I love him and he loves me. 😀

  7. reocochran says:

    Your Maverick is a gift, from a situation where he needed rescue. I feel my Mom sitting next to me, is my beautiful thing (person) today.
    I am blessed but hope someday you get an orange tabby cat, April.
    Hope you have a peaceful, hopeful and joyous holiday season. ❤

Comments are closed.