Happy Secrets Within

I’ve grumped about Facebook. The side most of us are familiar with—that ugly side.

However, Facebook has given me a gift.

Years ago I joined a knitting group. We were of all ages and personalities with one common thread….our love of knitting. The group fell apart but I have kept in contact with a couple ladies through Facebook.

One lady, in particular, felt so “natural” to me. We found the same things funny, we both suffer from social anxiety but hide it well. She seems to be my personality doppleganger. Well, almost. She is far more intelligent than I am and keeps herself busy. A mother of two, going to school to earn her PhD, and all the activities involved with two children, friends, school, work, and social causes she heartily fights for.

One day we were talking via Facebook about a little town in West Virginia where my dad’s family hails from. Her relatives are also from the same little town.

Since my brother’s death in 2008, I decided to continue his work with the genealogy of our family. I have found it so interesting and have imagined the lives of my ancestors. In other words, I love genealogy. It’s like discovering a new book with each family member’s presence.

Anyway, my knitting friend’s 4th great-grandfather, and my 3rd great-grandfather are one in the same! We are cousins!

What a gift!

We can continue to see the bleak things in life or continue to look for something good.

I’m glad I learned to skim by the hurtful things Facebook produces.

I found family.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy Secrets Within

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    That’s pretty awesome! You just never know in this world, do you? Neat!

  2. bwcarey says:

    happy Christmas, thanks for the post, very uplifting, where’s the needles dear!

  3. joey says:

    That’s fantastic! 😀

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    That is quite amazing seeing that you’ve spent some of your life way west, a long way away from West Virginia. This is one good thing about the internet. We end up meeting people we enjoy that we’d never have met otherwise. 😀

    • April says:

      What’s funny is that my mom’s family moved to the Seattle area from North Carolina and my dad’s family moved to Seattle from West Virginia. They met in Seattle.

      • Glynis Jolly says:

        You mean to tell me your heritage is in the south? And here I thought you were a westerner like me. 😛

        • April says:

          Yep, my mom and dad are both southerners. In fact, my dad was working for Boeing in Florida when I was born, so technically, I’m a southerner. We moved back to Washington state when I was 2—the west is all I know. 🙂

  5. Bradley says:

    There are many good things about Facebook, you just have to look for them sometimes. As for me, it’s a small way to stay in touch with my family.

  6. And a connection within like no other April 😀 Merry Christmas ❤

  7. suzjones says:

    How awesome April. 🙂

  8. reocochran says:

    It is indeed a “small world after all!” It is so wonderful, April. What you were feeling was a family or familial association. 😀

  9. Gallivanta says:

    That’s a most exciting discovery. I was thrilled to find an old penfriend via Facebook. But there’s no way we will turn out to be related.

  10. Meghan Capps says:

    What a great feeling. How cool!

Comments are closed.