Sunday With April

I’m truly digging deep today. I have basically become existent this last week. I don’t feel like doing anything and I’m pretty sure my husband is growing weary of me. We’re almost back to square one with me instructing him about what I am striving to control and what just seems to happen to me.

Mostly, I expect too much of myself. Logically, I know that high expectations set me up for a fall. However, even though I try toΒ go with the flow, there are times I interrupt that flow and it’s a downhill ride for me. I just need the time and space to be silent and work through what’s going on inside my mind, without the perceived notion that I’m letting someone down.

So, today…..I’m including what I have to be thankful along with what made me smile:

  • The roof over our heads, the food we have to eat, the ability to heat our home when it’s cold outside and to cool us when it’s hot.
  • That I have the tools and ability to move through the setbacks of my moods.
  • That I have a comfortable bed for pouting.
  • I still have the ability to put on the mask and make it through the day.
  • I remain cancer free.

The following made me smile:

  • Conversation with our oldest son. It’s so interesting to hear about his independent life and to recognize how successful he is.
  • Google chat with our daughter
  • Pumpkin pie
  • Our oldest son lamenting that he is approaching 30….which means I’m approaching 60…so don’t tell anyone, okay? We still have some years ahead of us before those milestones.
  • My 19-pound cat playing in an empty box, moving the box around the floor while making a lot of noise. (I’m not too sure what he’s chasing in that box…his tail?)
  • Oh! Another incident with our bed. I kinda fell out of it. A little bit dizzy in the head, I was trying to quietly toddle to the bathroom but broke the silence when I fell on the nightstand, causing bruises on my arm, and I swear the hypochondriac in me believes that the huge bruise on my side is an indication of a broken rib. Don’t ask me how that happened…..it’s a secret special talent that I have.
  • Every day is a new day for new possibilities…even if I don’t think so.

I hope to catch up on reading, online shopping, and general building of holiday cheer. I simply need to go a little slower.

I hope you find something to make you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday With April

  1. I like that you still look for reasons to smile and be grateful during difficult times April. We find what we look for – thanks for sharing your inspirational courage here. ❀
    Diana xo

  2. Glynis Jolly says:

    The trick may be not to think of what you’re doing as letting someone down, in particular, yourself. Life is what it is. It’s messing, confusing, and always unexpected. To expect anything out of it is bound to cause disappointment. Be surprised by all of it.

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    I just want to tell you that you are one of my reasons for smiling today. HUGS

  4. I’m constantly arguing with my foot April…I lift it up and over a step, and I swear its ignoring me as I trip for the hundredth time πŸ˜€
    There seems to be something missing from my brain to my foot…that particular nerve must have to go down the other leg to get permission first, and then comes back around to the other foot, and that slowness is causing the stumbles πŸ˜€
    Enjoy your weekend, we may have slow bits but we love ourselves regardless πŸ˜€

  5. joey says:

    I smiled a lot today, and again as I read your list.
    Sorry. I’m often the thing that goes bump in the night, too. sigh

  6. I smiled because I was in the sunshine, pretending it was warm, because coming through the glass of the car it felt warm. πŸ˜‰

  7. TheNutFactory says:

    No way your nearing 60!?!? You look so much younger in your picture. I would never have guessed that!

    • April says:

      That picture was posted a couple of years ago with makeup and my hair done. Other than a few more wrinkles, I still think I look the same. Meh, it’s just a number. Inside I feel and act much younger. πŸ˜€

  8. Gallivanta says:

    A comfortable bed is the best, even if we fall out of them sometimes!

  9. reocochran says:

    I like to stay in bed and rest for at least awhile when the grandies sleepover in the living room. . . Keeping them up late has its benefits!
    It is always an “upper” listening to a grown child making good progress or good choices. πŸ™‚ Yay, April!

Comments are closed.