Make This Moment Become Your Future

I can’t recall the exact words of Anthony Robbins….but they pertain to why we do things certain ways…we gain either pain or pleasure from our actions. Whatever the stronger emotion is, it will control our lives.

I remember asking myself why would one want to continue living in pain. Pain isn’t a choice…..or is it? Can our actions which create pleasure really conquer our actions which cause us pain?

I wanted to seek pleasure instead of keeping myself in pain.

I gave in to the medications prescribed, which were a personal lifesaver. My therapist helped me to control those obsessive thoughts, and I had room in my mind to deal with other things…..such as living. I’m not referring to the various thoughts which cause anxiety. The thoughts I’m referring to are about what I have no control over. I must focus on what is happening at this exact moment.

The recent election has caused me to face obsessive thoughts again. I think the most prevalent thoughts begin with “what-if”…..and they have almost been my undoing.

This Thanksgiving, I have a lot to be thankful for. Of course, my family, shelter, food, and friendship are all at the top of my list. However, this last year I learned how to live. Many times I have been standing with my toes over the proverbial edge but I learned how to step back. I am stepping back from this election and waiting to see what will happen, then I’ll act.

We don’t know what will happen until it happens. We can’t control a what-if, we can only do something about right now. Right now, I choose pleasure and peace of mind. Right now I can move toward a what if with knowledge learned in this moment.

Pain does not equal pleasure – Anthony Robbins

I hope you live this moment with pleasure.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Anxeity and Depression and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Make This Moment Become Your Future

  1. mewhoami says:

    Exactly. Everyone is so worried and concerned and nothing has even happened yet. I honestly think that many of the worries people have will never come to pass. And who knows – maybe this man will end up doing a much better job than many think he will. I say, give him a chance and see what happens. In the meantime, live and be happy.

    • April says:

      I’m very hesitant to give him a chance. He has shown his hand by the people he has chosen for his cabinet so far…..not to mention his unacceptable campaign behavior. I will certainly make my voice heard. I will be keeping my eyes on proposed legislation. I will be bugging the people from my state who are supposed to watch out for all the people in my state. However, there are marches I can participate in but they aren’t until after the holidays. They are in the future. I refuse to let those thoughts get in the way of this moment, until the moment arrives.

      • mewhoami says:

        I understand your concern. I would have been concerned with either of the choices though. They both have their fair share of questionable ideas for running the country. Which would have been worse in the long run? That’s the question I ask. But, what it’s important now is that we unite as a people, regardless of who the country’s leader is. The leader doesn’t make the country – the people do. As a united force we can make this country the great country our forefathers tried to make it.

  2. I’m coming to your place for some lessons April, you have better ‘let go’ than I do 😀
    And well done, just by being you, you are helping others as well as your journey.
    Have a great Thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. This is my go to piece for tomorrow April. It is right now that matters, and that we have. This was wonderful.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    Learning to actually believe in the Serenity Pray is so difficult. I can’t say I’ve mastered it yet, although I’m close. Like you, there are things I hold on to that I should let go of, but for one reason or another, I clutch them tight.

    Happy Thanksgiving, April. 🙂

    • April says:

      Thank you, Glynis. I hope you had a nice, peaceful Thanksgiving.

      • Glynis Jolly says:

        Mine was loud and busy. Eighteen people at the table plus two babies. I’m not use to so much family in one place. Yes, I know there are larger gatherings going on. So far I’ve been able to avoid them.

        I hope you Thanksgiving was full of love and happiness.

        • April says:

          Far behind on responding or reading blogs. My mind has been on a vacation. Yes, our Thanksgiving was okay. I still have a need to make sure everyone is pleased and sometimes I’m not as successful as I want to be.

  5. TheNutFactory says:

    Plenty of people here in Australia are very shocked at the election results as well. As our countries are allies it is concerning about what could potentially happen. But as you said, it hasn’t happened yet so we all wait to see what he does now. I do understand the anxiety around this issue.

  6. reocochran says:

    This was such a nice wish for us! 🙂
    I like how you revealed your political fears. I have been sad about the election results, too. It is hard to understand why anyone chose Trump. When he is president, I won’t be calling him that. He was so disrespectful towards President Obama. I have been appalled by his behavior throughout the election season. 😦
    My personal life is getting better, though. 🙂 Hugs to you, April.

Comments are closed.