Little Accomplishments = Huge Rewards

Just in case any of you were left in suspense….I made it to the store….at/around 2pm. This is pretty much a big deal for me because my shopping is done in the morning. After I hit a certain time of the day, I know I won’t be leaving the house………..again. All of this created in my mind to avoid anxiety.

I picked up the non-perishable items I will need for Thanksgiving. I’ll head out on Monday morning to do the rest of my shopping.

Aren’t you glad you have all this information? πŸ™‚

As I pulled into the rather full parking lot, I found a spot and sat in my car for a bit to gather myself. On the way into the store I told myself I would just pick up my prescriptions, get some cat food, and return home. A complete conversation played in my mind until I finally settled on ….. “just do it, buy all the things on the list”. Big baby was thrown around in my mind as well as, April, Rebel Warrior. (She hasn’t been around for a while)

I usually park the furthest from the store. Not because I don’t want other car doors dinging my doors, I do it because backing up a Mini Cooper is difficult when parked next to minivans or other large boats cars. Another anxiety trigger.

Wouldn’t you know it? A big Hummer parked next to me. It must have been car intimidation because they could have parked in one of the many other spots. I backed out without running over anyone or having a car plow into me because they couldn’t see me.

Whew!

I had one little incident in the canned fruit aisle regarding pineapple chunks vs pineapple tidbits. I needed the tidbits and couldn’t find them. I decided I would just cut up the chunks to make tidbits. When I got home I discovered I bought one can of chunks and one can of slices…..curses! Meh, even though it felt so at the time, it’s not the end of my world. Now that I look back, I find this incident rather comical. If I can’t laugh at myself, I will never make it to the other side of darkness and worry. Go ahead, you can laugh too. πŸ˜€

…..baby steps.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Anxeity and Depression and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Little Accomplishments = Huge Rewards

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    Yes! So proud of you. This is a great step forward for you.

    And darn those ginormous trucks. I hate parking next to them, too, even though I drive a pretty-average sized SUV (without those fancy schmancy backup cameras).

    • April says:

      My car is “bare bones”. It does have a radio but no cd player or any USB ports. For some reason our area has their share of Hummers.

  2. Elouise says:

    April, Your posts NEVER have TMI! And I totally get it about not wanting to park next to or between two of those pretentious SUVs! Congratulations on a well-spent shopping trip!
    Elouise

  3. I love this so much! I commend you for pushing through. You should be very proud of yourself!! 😍

  4. smilecalm says:

    such gentle
    suspense
    finding the
    playful joy
    out shopping!
    i always park
    right up front
    on my bike πŸ™‚

  5. You call them baby steps? I think not young lady, that is taking the gator by the jaws and then some… πŸ˜€
    You amaze me…next I’ll hear your wrestling anaconda’s πŸ˜€
    Well done! πŸ˜€

  6. Sounds like a total success to me. πŸ™‚

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    I try not to go through all the “what ifs” when it comes to anxiety triggers. I feel the anxiety raising its ugly head and I tell myself, “Just do it and get it over with.” More often than not, I find there wasn’t all that much to be anxious about in the first place.

  8. What a successful day April πŸ™‚

  9. joey says:

    Glad you got it done, tidbits withstanding. I’d planned to go tomorrow evening for the Thanksgiving foods, but maybe you’re on to something with the Monday morning…

  10. reocochran says:

    I don’t like anyone parking next to myself. I worry if someone in a large vehicle parks next to me, as I inch forward, very slowly out from beside their vehicle, hoping no one hits me, April.
    Pineapple cut up into bits is so nice, as well as the shredded kind. Both easier to make desserts. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.