Drinking the Kool-aid?

First of all, as much as I dislike Halloween, all my neighbors were cool. They gathered all their kids and trick-or-treated all at one time. So…..not too much getting up and down off the couch.

Being an introvert, I tend to keep a few real close friends. Some of my friends share the same political views I have, and some others don’t. However, there is much more to a friendship than politics.

I got sucked into reading a Facebook post for what I believed wasn’t a political post. A long time friend created the following status …blah, blah, blah,”Was there a special kind of kool aid that got passed around or what!? Wake the hell up from your stupor people!” Another long time friend commenting, “the blue kool-aid of liberalism, it’s a mental disorder”.

Seriously?

So, does being a liberal with mental illness prevent us from thinking? We can’t decide which candidate aligns with our values or beliefs because we are “ill”? Does it mean the lights are on but nobody’s inside? That we lack any sort of intelligence?

And I just had to reply….to the blue kool aid guy, my response was that his comment was rude and hurtful. His response….he used a smiley face at the end of his comment.

My comment to the original thread of my now ex-long-time-friend, was, “thank you, I prefer my kool aid over ice.

Bahahahaha! (the bahahahaha was not added to my comment, it was added here for the purpose that I no longer care)

I have blogged about the ugliness of Facebook and realize that my experience isn’t unique, but I have come a long way from when it used to hurt my feelings and I beat myself up for being a bad person.

I’m still on Facebook but I can put all those misinformed, rude “friends” on my acquaintances list and never see their posts again unless I must torture myself.

I’m so glad I only have a small group of friends. One or two removed from my life may look like a big hit to my inner circle, but I won’t miss them 😀

Anyway, even though I will have the thoughts running through my head like….I have to take my babysitter with me or I’ll do something wrong. What if we can’t find a parking spot? What if the line is too long and my husband can’t miss work? What if I choose the wrong buttons? Am I completely informed about what is going on in our state? Will I say something wrong to someone? Will I trip over my feet?

What if someone asks me what color of kool-aid I drank? 😀

I will cast my vote and not question my intelligence.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Drinking the Kool-aid?

  1. aviets says:

    Good for you. To be honest, I feel that way about the other side, too, but so far I’ve had the decency to keep such nasty comments about them to myself. Well, except for on my blog…

  2. dementedrealist says:

    I dislike Halloween myself

  3. mewhoami says:

    Good for you. You shouldn’t feel like you have to defend yourself. People with conflicting opinions is to be expected in an election. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have a presidential race to begin with. Meaning, it’s okay to have your own opinion. I believe that as long as you’ve done your own research and have not based your vote merely off what the media presents, and feel confident in your choice of candidate then go for it. Vote with your head held high. As far as voting at the booth, I don’t. I skip the lines and tension by dropping mine off at a ballot box instead.

    • April says:

      I was a little late in requesting a ballot so now I have to stand in line. That’s okay, I’m sure I will survive. 🙂

      • mewhoami says:

        As someone who also gets anxiety in crowds and unfamiliar territory, I feel for you. But you’re right – you’ll be okay. The best way to conquer a fear is by doing it. At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

  4. joey says:

    I enjoyed the “over ice” comment immensely. I, too, have hidden away a few friends in the meantime, but I’m forever changed. :/

    • April says:

      It’s too bad we have to do this but I guess that is what too much information has done to us. I do have friends who believe in the conservative ways but we don’t have rude discussions, we try to be respectful of each other. Some just go too far.

  5. Just be you April…a greater treasure you will not find ❤
    Pity there wasn’t a rainbow colored kool aid though, that would fix them 😀

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    Although I still have my Facebook account, I’m never at the site anymore. My stepdaughter, my son-in-law [stepson-in-law?], my husband, and I have been brutalized at the site by people I thought I could trust. I’m boycotting the site, although I might end up making a page there at some point. Until then, you can find me at Twitter and Google+.

    Although I’ll be voting, I won’t be voting for anything to do with the state I live it. They won’t know the difference anyway. Even after living here eight years, most people in this community still consider me an outside because I’m not a native and I’m not one to carry a bible with me wherever I go.

    All I can say to all of this is: Such is life. 😛

    April, stand strong and be who you are. I, for one, like you the way you are. ❤

  7. reocochran says:

    I am unfortunately or not, a blue Kool aid drinker and blue popsicle eater. I have been married to a red Kool aid drinker and tried to never remind him to vote till Too late 🙂 I know, “my bad!” 😀
    I don’t mind those who liked Bernie nor those who hoped for our Ohio man, John Kasich. I could put up with a Sane person, a Moderate. Really!!
    So glad you posted about un-friending since I have also un-followed people! Thank you, April! 🙂

    • April says:

      I’m more of a moderate. I seriously wish that Bernie had the nomination. It was a sad day for me. I’ve been watching him for years.

  8. Gallivanta says:

    Friendships can be really tested on Facebook. Politics can test friendships, too. 😦 I am glad that nothing has put you off voting. 🙂

    • April says:

      That friend is well……maybe not as good of a friend as I thought she was. I don’t mind opinions if they are phrased in a positive or neutral way, I learn that way. However, to insult the the people who don’t think like they do is not acceptable to me.

Comments are closed.