Sunday With April on Monday

Sigh. Halloween. Not one of my most favorite of holidays. I love Autumn, but something about Halloween night bugs me.

After having anxiety filled dreams of running out of candy, I woke up a little exhausted. I performed my morning get-the-kinks-out stretches with my eyes closed. As usual, I flopped back down on the pillow and covered my head with the blanket.

Another day.

My eyes began to leak.

While lying there with my head covered, I reminded myself that this is a new day. One full of new opportunities. I can make it good, or I can make it bad….first I have to get out of bed.

Then memories of my dad floated through my mind. He loved Halloween. After we were grown and no longer went door-to-door begging for candy, he would plan an elaborate spooky way to greet trick-or-treaters. He continued to dress up with a funny mask until my parents moved to a place they didn’t get trick-or-treaters.

My eye leaks turned into fond tears of happiness.

I got out of bed. (obviously)

The following made me smile:

  • Colors. All of them! Look around, what color do you see first?
  • The grand kitties went home…return to normalcy
  • I visited with our oldest, in person, for the second time in a week
  • Little paw prints on my windshield from the grand kitty. He just had to climb on top of my car. For such a huge cat he has little paws and a small head. He is funny looking but adorable.
  • This beautiful post…https://silkannthreades.wordpress.com/2016/10/28/memories-of-a-table/
  • Finally letting go of the election anxiety and deciding that I will not feel guilty for voting the way I will vote. One of the candidates wasn’t even an option, but I don’t feel great about the other. Meh, in four years we will have the opportunity to change that…..as long as we have a country left
  • Watching my friends get involved in what they believe (not necessarily politics) by doing something and not sitting back complaining. It takes action to change anything.
  • The smell of my shampoo
  • Lemon in my water

Wishing you a Happy Halloween. Hope you find something to make you smile.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday With April on Monday

  1. aviets says:

    I love the fall colors, too. And Halloween is definitely not my style. I might be turning into a crotchety oldster, because I’m already fuming over knowing a quiet, relaxing evening of “Antiques Roadshow” will be messed up by having to run to the door every few minutes.

  2. joey says:

    It’s always good when weepy thoughts turn into fond memories. 🙂 Have a good day!

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Damn leaky eyes. But yeah, you did good turning those thoughts into happy memories. A new day is a new opportunity to do good things!

  4. I love that memories of your dad turned things around for you. ❤

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    It’s Tuesday now. Halloween is past and it is All Saints Day. We didn’t have any trick-or-treaters at our door. Good thing because we didn’t have any candy. Does your kitty’s fur look better now? I still remember that picture after the “trim” to take care of the knots.

  6. reocochran says:

    So glad you were able to move in sad tear mode to a better place full of happy memories, April. The big cat having small paws and head makes ME smile!
    Colors everywhere are a blessing! I sure love fall leaves crunching! Hope this will find you starting a good week.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Here I am, a little late, but I needed a smile and I have found one. 😀

Comments are closed.