Rituals and Lies

Every Sunday morning I divvy up my medications and vitamins in one of those little medication holders to remind me if I ignore my alarms and forgot to take my morning, afternoon, or late afternoon pills. I usually don’t forget bedtime because that is usually the only routine I stick to….going to bed. Now that I don’t suffer from insomnia any more, bedtime is a real treat.

This Sunday I had to smile and kind of laugh at myself for something I told my dentist. I handed over my scroll of medications and all the over-the-counter medications and vitamins I ingest on a daily basis. I had to have a tooth pulled and one of my medications has a reminder that I’m supposed to tell the dentist if I should have any dental work performed.

He looked over my list and said…..”these look to be mostly….” and I finished his sentence with “vitamins”.

Ha!

I take quite a few vitamins and probably many of them aren’t absorbed by my body and end up in the bottom of the toilet but, in my mind, they are important to take.

However, the amount of vitamins is small in comparison to the number of psychiatric drugs I take.

Not that I don’t appreciate my medications—they gave me my life back. I laugh because I believe I like convincing myself that my medications are actually vitamins.

The little white lies we tell ourselves to make it through the day.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Depression, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Rituals and Lies

  1. aviets says:

    Hahahaha I go through that same little self-deception every time I have to do a mass order of meds. Asthma, blood pressure, birth control, SAD…surely the list isn’t as long as it seems, right?

  2. I think we all have little stories we tell ourself to survive this daily battle called life.

  3. joey says:

    Your attitude represents your great sense of humor 😀

  4. I kept hearing Lucille Ball say ‘vitameatavegiman’. 🙂

  5. angyjenks says:

    Don’t I know it..😂😂

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I was on a vitamin kick about five or six years ago. It got to the point where I was feeling I was standing in front of the drawer where I keep my meds. longer than where I stood anywhere else in the house, including at the stove. When husband found out he was diabetic, we changed our eating habits. Because of that, it was obvious to me that I didn’t need all those vitamins anymore. They got thrown away. I’d still be taking vitamin E but it gives me nose bleeds because of the high blood pressure meds. I’m on.

    As for little white lies–I have a terrible time telling any kind of lie without recanting it soon. The truth just always slips out of my mouth, even when I don’t want it to. O_o

    • April says:

      The only person I lie to is myself. I also have trouble keeping my thoughts inside…it takes a lot of effort. We have been working on healthy eating. We slip with a pizza now and then but for the most part we are doing well. Now I just have to cook healthy for the holidays.

      • Glynis Jolly says:

        Actually, except for the sweet stuff, most of the holiday dinner is healthy. The problem is knowing when to stop eating. I go by the largest spoon in my silverware drawer. If the serving size is better than that, it’s too much.

        • April says:

          Good idea. I will remember that. I always rationalize that “it’s only once a year”, but then it turns into another holiday and another. At least I’ve stayed out of the Halloween candy this year.

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Well, they are all vita- l to your life, so let them be vita- mins. 😉

  8. Your Mind is the most important in this.. And what you tell yourself counts.. So keep on doing what is working for you April.. And I eat all fresh veggies etc, yet still take my vits xxx

Comments are closed.