Sunday With April

Well, here I am. Able to sit upright, and for that I’m thankful. I did something to screw up my back and have been spending weeks lying flat on the floor to get some relief.

A little list of what has made me smile recently:

  • My back spasms and pain have subsided
  • Being successful working through my thoughts about a potential major life change
  • My arms are a bit stronger from having to hold a book up in the air in order to read while flat on my back
  • My cats believe I make a good bed while lying flat. Yes, they took advantage of my temporary disability.
  • My anxiety created by flying has turned into plain old hate. Yes, I hate it. It’s not like I can get on an airplane without fear and or panic, but my hate seems to be a good counterbalance.
  • I find it interesting how my brain works.
  • My husband did something I found to be hilarious but I am sworn to secrecy to keep it to myself. So….it has become one of those thoughts I can pull upon when I feel like I’m heading down the rabbit hole because it makes me laugh my silly head off. By the way, he isn’t amused.
  • My husband killed a snake lurking in the basement of our home in Nowhere, Missouri

I hope that you find something to make you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday With April

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better April and I’m curious as heck about the ‘husband’ story! ❤
    Diana xo

  2. April says:

    Hope your back feels better soon! Glad you can sit up and why do you tease us with a story you can’t share lol! Hope you have a great week!

    • April says:

      Thanks, I’m able to walk and sit so all is good. My husband is a calm, serious sort and what he did was so out of character. It probably is hilarious to me because I don’t get to see this side of him often.

  3. aviets says:

    Oh you poor thing! I’m glad you’re recovering now. And thank goodness you were able to hold up books well enough to read while you were stuck on the floor!

    • April says:

      I’m better. Had to get all the kinks out before we went to Missouri. I have found the heating pad to be a great accessory.

  4. joey says:

    Glad to know he got the snake and that you’re feeling better 🙂

    • April says:

      At first he told me it was a snake about 4 inches round. Come to find out it wasn’t nearly that big, but he’s a goner now.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I can’t even imagine the pain you’ve endured. I hope your back continues to behave.

    • April says:

      We all probably have some type of pain to deal with and I am trying to work through mine. I’ve been doing some exercises which are finally helping….along with a heating pad. At least I can sit up and walk without too much pain. The best is that I’m finally able to sleep. Grumpy April isn’t very nice to be around.

  6. Here’s to building arm muscles! 😦 Sorry about the back pain April, but glad to hear you’re on the mend.

    No love loss for snakes….. none.at.all.

  7. Good to hear, that you are getting better, but take care with ladders, while you are not totally up yet 🙂
    Your cats help you to stay warm, while you are down in health, so not only to profit 😀
    My cats lay very close, if I’m down in health and they only walk away very shortly.
    I’m not a fan of snakes either, specially not when they get too close to my house.

    • April says:

      Do you have many poisonous snakes where you live?

      • I think, there are around 11 different kind of snakes in Spain and if I remember right, there are 3 poisonous kind of snakes here. I have seen several rattle snakes here and some bigger ones, as some people without much brain have released in the wild, even they don’t belong here and can disturb the usual nature.
        Are there many poisonous snakes, where you live April?

        • April says:

          We have rattlesnakes toward the mountains, but copperhead snakes just about anywhere. They don’t have a fatal bite but I hear it can be extremely painful. I may have seen one but I didn’t want to go following it to make sure. 🙂

  8. Elouise says:

    April, I love your distinction between anxiety about flying and hating to fly! It sounds totally healthy to me. Your cats sharing your floor time made me smile a lot. Pets are such wonderful cuddly comforters! Especially when they’re behaving themselves…. 🙂 I also think having a few private and shamefully funny stories to tell about your husband is excellent. I know I have mine.
    Elouise

  9. mewhoami says:

    So sorry to hear that you’ve been going through so much because of your back. But, I’m happy to see (by your writing) that you’re up and moving around now. Life changes are never easy, but sometimes they prove to be so much better than we had planned. If nothing else, they provide us with experiences we wouldn’t have had otherwise.

  10. reocochran says:

    I loved your list but so sorry I was not aware of your pain and position on floor. Those cats know a good thing when they feel her under them! 🙂
    So glad you are thinking about a life change. . . Good luck and hope it works out. I am contemplating leaving the warehouse, despite no teaching opportunities. I will maybe try bank teller or child care center, first shift feeding babies bottles until 2:30. I’m good with kids and no major wear and tear on my body. I cannot lie on my side to read a book and have to switch hands when I place book on pillow on lap. Numbness and carpal tunnel symptoms.I dislike 50 hour continued work weeks from May until now!!
    I don’t want surgery just healing. Hugs to you, April.

    • April says:

      Healing thoughts to you. I’m trying not to over think decisions but let them just kinds of float through my mind. Eventually, the right decision will come along.

  11. Gallivanta says:

    Ouch; glad you are on the mend.

Comments are closed.