Changing Focus and Pushing to the Limit

My husband and I were discussing my anxiety over everything. I told him that a friend of mine who is dealing with the same type of driving problem that I have, asked me if I may be more anxious about where I’m going and what will happen once I arrive at my destination. My husband told me that was exactly what he thinks about my anxiety over driving.

I’ve been thinking.

And thinking.

I even took a trip to a city not too far from us. Not a city like Atlanta but bigger than where we live.

I asked myself the regular therapist-in-my-mind question….such as, what’s the worst that can happen?

Well…..a tire could fall off my car. Someone could slam into me from the side, front, or back. I could get lost. I won’t be able to find a parking spot once I arrive (that’s a biggie). There could be road construction. I could be late. Once I get there, I have to talk to strangers, or not. I could just walk around as if they don’t exist. But there could be one among the crowd that I have to keep my eye on….you know, one of the bad people.

Then I asked myself another therapist-in-my-mind question….what do I have control of?

My thoughts! That’s it! I have control over what I think about and how much time I focus on the subject.

A tire isn’t going to fall off my car. I am a good driver and pay attention to the texters and the people driving batshit crazy. I always find a parking spot, even if I have to walk. There is always road construction no matter which direction I go. I’ve been late one time because I got lost. However, I give myself plenty of time to get to appointments, on top of that, I know where I’m going! I talk to strangers and really don’t have too much anxiety over it…more than I should, but I’m working on that one. There are more good people in this world than there are bad.

So, I made that trip. I survived and will remember my survival because I have to make the same trip tomorrow.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Anxeity and Depression and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Changing Focus and Pushing to the Limit

  1. It’s been said that we are what we think about all day long…might as well think positively. (Easier said than done, but every small victory adds up)

  2. aviets says:

    Wow, I appreciated that trip through your thought process. I hadn’t realized that I go through some of that same anxiety when I go places, and I could use your example to power through it. Thanks!

  3. joey says:

    Quite insightful! I love it! I think I’ll give myself these sorta quizzes next time the road anxiety hits, thanks, April!

  4. And each time more confidence is built….and a belief in yourself April…take a bow, you are doing well 🙂

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    You’re taking command. Sometimes that control may seem impossible. Of course, it isn’t. It could be a little unpleasant at times while going through the process of getting the control. But often it’s necessary for our feeling of well-being.

  6. You have power in that self talk April.

  7. Well done April and I know each time those journeys are made they will get easier and easier, just focus on the now of the moment not what could be.. ❤ Love to you xx

  8. reocochran says:

    You are such a great ponderer, April. You get me to think and try to understand people, their motives and behaviors. Going under the surface and into the psyche. So amazing and have a serene and peaceful Sunday! xo Things are progressing well and some fun things like zoo witg his boys are being discussed while I will bring my two grandsons in two weeks or so. . . Trying to be the best we can be is how we should handle what gifts we have been given but we all have human insecurities and frailties. hugs xo

    • April says:

      We do have frailties and it’s great to have people around who are patient and try to understand.

      • reocochran says:

        I will try to continue to be supportive and patient. I also learned my first thoughts aren’t my best ones so I don’t send my texts right away. 🙂

        • April says:

          Yes, waiting can be a good thing. I’m trying to do that myself. When I don’t feel that great about myself I take it out on those around me. I’m learning to look for the source before I say something I don’t mean.

  9. reocochran says:

    You got through this trip with encouraging yourself and remembering your abilities and strengths! Hurray, so glad this happened, April. ❤
    Your negative thought processes could give me the chills, so I do see how deep and worrisome they may be. Good for you overcoming your fears! 🙂

  10. Gallivanta says:

    You made it! Wonderful.

Comments are closed.