Living Among the Canopy

We have been grand puppy sitting this weekend. I love the little stinker but she must sleep with someone. My husband has a rule about no animals in the bed but the first night he caved in and let her “sleep” with us. Eventually, I moved to one of the extra, empty bedrooms in order for my husband to get some sleep. Since there was only one person in the bed, she had more room and we slept a little better.

I didn’t bother closing the blinds since the room faces the top of the trees.

This morning, as the puppy was trying to wake me up, I slowly opened my eyes to see the tops of the trees and the sky. Oh, how beautiful the sky was, so blue and cloudless. This morning, I felt like blue sky. Lately, I’ve felt like blue sky.

However, for me, storms will undoubtedly roll in. The hypomania, the depression. Just as predicted for this afternoon, we will be having thunderstorms to ruin the blue sky.

That kind of describes how my life goes. If I’m lucky, I can live with mostly sunny skies as long as I take my medication and take care of myself. We continue tweaking my medication because, I swear, I’ve been over medicated. I’m still looking for a new pill pusher who is accepting new patients and is on our preferred provider insurance list.

We have enjoyed watching the grand puppy but feel sorry for her when the thunder rolls in. Her escape is to hide in the bathroom. When the thunder rolls in my mind, I have nowhere to go except within. Changing my thinking by telling myself, Β just like a thunderstorm it will pass and the sky will be blue again. Not an easy feat, but I have been more successful than I have been in the past.

I’m going to enjoy the cloudless, blue sky while I can. Hope you have a blue sky kind of day.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Living Among the Canopy

  1. aviets says:

    Good post. I’m glad I read it this morning because it made me look ahead at what I’m likely to do today. It could easily be a dull, non-productive day. But you’ve inspired me to do something to make today a little special – even if it’s just tackling a long overdue clear out and organize project!

  2. Wish you a happy day, April πŸ™‚

  3. I did have a blue sky kind of day. πŸ™‚ Thank you April! I hope you have another one. πŸ™‚

  4. Actually, the pup is probably one of the best medicines you can take πŸ˜€
    And blue sky days of course πŸ™‚

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Your “little” four-legged darling is smart. The bathroom is the perfect place to hide out. It’s one of the safest rooms in the house. Not only that, but the surroundings are clean and fresh, and usually bright.

    Glad to read you’re having more blue-sky days, April. The rollercoaster ride gets awfully tiresome after a while. ❀ ❀

Comments are closed.