And Now They’re Chasing Pokemon

The title has little to do with what I feel like writing about. In a way, perhaps it does. How can one silly little game become all the rage so quickly. My son needs to develop some way to waste more time on our phones.

Since I grew up without the luxury of a phone attached to me at all times, I’m not likely to know where mine happens to be. I turn it off when I have appointments because the one useful thing, other than texting my kids, is the alarm. I have it set to my medication schedule. It’s quite an unpleasant sound and I make sure I can hear it when I’m home. I have been embarrassed more than once with that alarm going off in a store.

Anyway, still off topic.

I have been staying away from Facebook for a bit. Mostly, I can’t stand the rudeness that this election season has brought out in some of my friends. Some of you know I’m mature physically, but not so much in the way I act–life is too short and if I’m not depressed, I’m going to take advantage of every moment I have free of that black pit. I quite enjoy it as if I were a kid.

Since I’m – ahem – mature, I have friends of more than 35 years. The few one I’ve had since childhood is exactly as I knew, and still know her. We grew but we always knew each other on a personal level. Meaning, not too many secrets between us.

Then there are the current friends—those I’ve known for 35 or more years…..

…..or do I really know them?

Apparently, the political season has brought out the worst in quite a few—but that’s not new news. However, I have learned a few things I didn’t want to know about a couple of my friends. It’s one thing to get behind one candidate or the other, but to constantly post ugly-half-truths about the opponent of who they are in love with, are the type of people I wish I didn’t know.

Yes, I can unfriend them, skim over their posts, ignore the political posts and pay attention to what the rest of them brag about—yeah, yeah, I brag too. However, I don’t want to unfriend someone who acts or thinks of politics differently than I do. I don’t want to be that kind of person.

What I’m bugged about is the fact that I find soooo many years later that I really didn’t know the people. The same people that I feel the itch to block their posts today. Why can’t I just accept that the idiot they feel should be president is not the idiot I think should be? Does it really matter? Neither one of us will change the mind of the other, so why do these people constantly show their stupidity LOUD and PROUD?

Why should it matter to me?

If it weren’t for Facebook, I would never know these things about some friends because I don’t usually participate in political discussions—I like my blood pressure to stay in the normal range. Maybe my vote may make a difference, but trying to get another to believe as I do is plain old nonsense.

Meh, I will return to Facebook because I do like the grandchildren photos and I love to see where my friends have been and what they are up to. Maybe I should just go back to plain old letter writing—you know, through that place called the post office.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to navigate Instagram in order to see if the pages I follow on Facebook also use Instagram. I’m having some luck.

Apparently, I should be playing the pokemon game—it has a bonus of exercise included.

What more could I ask for?

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to And Now They’re Chasing Pokemon

  1. suzjones says:

    I’ve missed you on FB. I’m not posting a whole lot but I did share some news the other day that I’m kinda not ready to post on my blog.
    You should totally do the pokemon thing. I tried to put it on my phone but my phone is too old lol The Teen has it and goes chasing pokemons at random times though lol

    • April says:

      I’ll pop in on FB and read your posts. My standoff is about over. I will just have to hide or skim over the political posts.

  2. aviets says:

    I definitely understand. FB has a fair amount of responsibility for the horribly negative climate out there right now.

  3. Glynis Jolly says:

    Facebook “fried” me numerous months ago, more like a few years ago. I’ve become a Twitter fan. True, only 140 characters per post, but in most instances, that’s all that’s really necessary. My favorite way of communicating with long distant friends is email. It’s much more relaxing and nonabrasive. The games? I think I like the jewel games better than Pokémon.

    • April says:

      I’ve never mastered Twitter with all the hashtags and all, I just haven’t used it. I don’t play any of the games. I would never get anything done. Not that I get things done now, but at least I’m not making myself more disorganized.

  4. Truthfully I don’t get the pokemon….or the politics….

  5. meANXIETYme says:

    I don’t get the Pokemon thing, but my phone is basically on me for emergencies (mine or others trying to get to me). I remember the days of no cell phones…I used to have a CB in my car when I was traveling a lot in case of emergencies. LOL
    I DO read facebook, mostly because it’s something to look at when I get bored. And I totally get the thing about thinking you knew people. I thought I knew my sister-in-law, then she goes spouting about one of the political candidates and I’m like WTH? I didn’t say anything to her or in response, I just unfriended her. I couldn’t believe it. Maybe after the election I’ll re-add her. I’m not into politics, so I don’t really participate in that talk anyway.

    • April says:

      FB can be an enlightening place or one so full of negativity, I start to feel bad about myself. Which is stupid. I’m into factual politicking, but the crap on tv and fb is just crap.

  6. joey says:

    I rarely share anything political. I think I’ve got a good grip on who’s who in terms of parties on my FB, and like you say, I’m not going to change anyone’s mind. I have seen some people finally discover politics, and I’ve seen some people change, but I’m not sure FB is the reason. It is unnerving how many people we align ourselves with, and later discover this other side of them. On the one hand, it’s nice they don’t scream about it at dinner parties, but on the other, gosh, do we share values at all?
    My kids are Pokemon hunting. I’m glad for the exercise, but now I’m always hollerin about hats and sunscreen 😛
    Like you, I’m not one with my phone. I take it when I leave the house, but when I’m home, and especially when my family’s home, it’s not often with me. I mainly use it to communicate with the 3 people who live with me!

    • April says:

      I remember my two uncles would get into some deep conversations during family gatherings. No fists, or yelling but they were definitely not from the same political party. I have a friend I was talking to about the gay marriage issue….holy crap, she unloaded on me and I was sorry I even mentioned it. In my opinion, now it’s just one party who seems to be the most obnoxious.

  7. Bradley says:

    Facebook has kept me in touch with my family. It also has gotten me reacquainted with friends I lost touch with. There really are some benefits to it. Big benefits. I use to post a lot of political stuff, but toned it down quite a bit. I did take a two day break this week because there was too much bad news for me to handle. The break was needed, but I’m glad I’m back.

    • April says:

      I use it to keep in touch with my family too. They live on the west coast–we live on the east coast. I only have distant relatives on this side of the country. I have reconnected with some friends that I lost touch with and I a so happy about that. But yes, the political jargon does get to me and I’ve learned to skip over them unless I want to hear what the latest gossip is, but I have to be in the right frame of mind.

Comments are closed.