The Life of a Master Distractor

Update to my last post, this is how my day went….well, I’m not going to go through all the boring details, but this is how I get distracted.

On my daily to-do list— take my medication and give the dog hers. Yes, I have an alarm on my phone that tells me to take my medications, but a lot of times I turn off the alarm and forget to take my meds.

Those tasks were a no brainer since I had to turn off the alarm and check them off my list.

Another bullet on my list, is to clean the kitchen. It is done the night before, but I have a vampire in the basement, remember? While he mostly cleans up after himself, there is a little bit of my morning mess as well as what he left during the night.

Dog wants to go out…I walk the dog.

This time my kitchen cleaning translated to….oh! Maybe it’s time to clean the Keurig. Yes!

Clean the Keurig.

Feed the animals.

oh! There’s a puked up cat hairball on the floor to clean up. Bare feet are a great detection unit for this problem.

Dog wants to sit on deck for her daily solar power charge. Let dog out.

oh! Maybe I should change the filter in the refrigerator since I’m doing the coffee maker. Since we need ice until a full cycle goes through the ice maker (that’s what I was told by the delivery man), I take the ice already in the bin and put it in a bag and wait for the bin to get full again while using the ice in the bag. Then I empty the ice bin again and start over with newly purified ice–remember, that is what I was told to do.

Let dog in.

I change filter to fridge, drop ice on floor.

oh! I clean up dog puke because her sensitive tummy couldn’t handle the ice cube she ate.

I didn’t give up, I soldiered on.

I enjoyed the freshly made coffee from my newly cleaned machine. yum.

After the coffee, I went on with a project not on my list but it was a have-to-do because we are getting a new bed. Now that the monstrosity of the 25 year old bed is out of the way, I think I want to paint. I know that I don’t want that bed frame going back in there but I may lose the fight to my husband. For some reason, he likes it.

Since I have to wait all day for the delivery people, and have been given two different time frames, I will be home all day.

So….take my medications, give the dog hers, walk the dog, clean the kitchen…..

I hope I move beyond that today.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Life of a Master Distractor

  1. The hairball part cracked me up. Yesterday I sat on my bed (and I cannot remember why) and sat in dog puke! Gag. I had to strip the bed, including the mattress pad, and that got me way off track on my to-do list. You are not alone! LOL.

    • April says:

      We have a Mastiff….so, when she pukes it is almost a whole roll of paper towels to clean it up (just a little exaggeration but it seems like it)

  2. joey says:

    I’m not particularly focused right now either. It’s like I’m waiting for something, not that I know what. I experience this from time to time and I always seem to get through it, so I figure it may be normal.

    • April says:

      It’s okay for me to get distracted these days. I just go with it instead of fighting against it, even though it’s frustrating.

  3. reocochran says:

    Your day sounds like you accomplished many things, April. Not sure I would go barefoot in your house, if I were a guest! 😀
    When I get home from work, I often go round starting all the things I need to do. I spent money at store so I need to grab my checkbook. I take it in the kitchen. I set out food for dinner, items I need to pack in my lunch, then I wash my Tupperware little bowl I took pasta salad in, then I see the checkbook, record my gas and grocery purchases, put it away. One loose end got completed! On one particularly crazy evening I set my cell phone in the fridge as I made my lunch for the next day. An hour of calling it, using my patient elderly apt neighbor’s cell phone, and never hearing it due to refrigerator insulation, I got hungry and took out the milk to have a bowl of cereal. There was the phone! 🙂

    • April says:

      I’m so glad I’m not the only one who loses their phone in odd places. I found mine in the pantry one time.

Comments are closed.