Nothing Can Last Forever – The Final Chapter

Our current residence is 3000 miles from our last home. The area we all knew our entire lives. For the two old farts in the family, that was a long time.

Houses0005

Our current home

In our last home, our kids were able to attend the same elementary school. One went through three years of junior high school, and the oldest through junior high, and one year of high school.

My dream of keeping them in the same schools went away. Poof!

New schools. New friends. New routines. New culture.

We moved just slightly before the big housing crash. At the time we moved, the company my husband works for paid for all moving expenses. If, after a three month listing time, our house didn’t sell, the company would buy it from us and sell it. The company hired their own appraisers and we received far much more money than we ever dreamed of getting for that house. In fact, the four years we lived there, our house had doubled in price.

I haven’t a clue what we were thinking when we were looking for homes in Georgia. We had three days to find one (time that the company paid all expenses for us to find a house, including flight from Seattle, motel, food…etc.)

For some reason we had our eyes set on BIG. Not thinking that our oldest would be off to college two years after we moved and our daughter would soon be following….we still went BIG. Needless to say, since we bought when we did, our current home isn’t worth what we paid for it.

The finished basement of our current home is larger than our first home. I have 5 toilets to clean. Well, 4 now that the youngest has moved back home and can do his own cleaning.

My husband and I worked hard to have a great backyard for the dogs this time. Our kids all graduated from the same high school while living in this house. We had our celebrations, but it was just our immediate family, except for the year my mom visited for Christmas.

What other kind of memories does this house contain?

ooooo…..bad ones.

I have felt grief beyond what my mind and heart could handle. I lived with the fear of being diagnosed with cancer. I finally faced my mortality and, at the time, I didn’t want to live as I had been living.

I broke here and I’m trying to put myself back together.

Today, our home is cleaned in sections.

Due to a tiny house my husband inherited from his dad in rural Missouri, this won’t be the house our grandkids will grow to know as Grandma and Grandpa’s. More than likely they will know the Missouri house as our forever home.

Which is fine. That house only has two toilets and will be a breeze to clean. It’s the renovating that is a challenge.

6K2A1295

Our Missouri home

Until then, I’m determined to wash away the bad memories this house holds. I will strive to make new, happy memories to carry with me.

….and we shall move one more time…no more.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Nothing Can Last Forever – The Final Chapter

  1. reocochran says:

    This was a beautiful home and your children (plus you and your husband) were blessed to have such a nice place to bring guests home to. . . It is hard when bad times occur to eliminate the sad thoughts associated with them. Maybe have a private disco party or other silly thing to get “bad mojo” out? πŸ˜€

  2. aviets says:

    Your current house is truly beautiful. But FIVE BATHROOMS? That is a nightmare in terms of cleaning. I do hope your efforts to create new, positive memories in this house are wildly successful. And that shady, green setting of the Missouri house is definitely something to look forward to,

    • April says:

      We were insane at the moment. This house was not my first choice, it was the husband’s. However, it’s home and I have to make something of it instead of counting my woes.

  3. It is some of a house, very beautiful April and huge, when you need to clean it. I hope, that you will love your Missouri house πŸ™‚

  4. mewhoami says:

    As much as I love your soon-to-be old house (and I do love it!), as soon as I saw you soon-to-be new house, I instantly imagined children (your grandkids) running all over that big front yard, playing in the trees and having a grand time. What a great final home that will be, with good memories from the start.

  5. Your current home (soon to be old home) is beautiful…but it makes me tired thinking about all the cleaning required. We recently moved from a large home (still only three bathrooms) to a 1500 sf 3bdrm/2bath home & I love it. So much more manageable. I hope everything comes together for you.

  6. Bradley says:

    Beautiful home, but I wouldn’t be able to deal with the upkeep. Be glad it’s a ranch house. My husband and I agreed that our final home will be single story so we don’t have to worry when we get older. It’s obviously a long way off before you have to worry about that – just tossing a benefit out to you.

  7. I’ve loved your home travels APril. And I adore the Missouri home. It is already full of hope and anticipation. Not to mention the efforts of you and your husband, building your future. ❀

  8. joey says:

    Oh your current house is just lovely, and so BIG indeed! I feel you on that bathroom situation. I’ve never associated any of my homes with the bad stuff, but I do think negative energy can linger there. I am lala, and will burn sage and all that.
    That little ranch home in Missouri looks sweet as can be! Looks like a fantastic lot! I can totally imagine the drive full of parked cars as well as love and laughter overflowing from the house. I’m excited for you to start your new chapter there.

Comments are closed.