Nothing Can Last Forever – Part 3

The third house we moved to was going to be the house we lived in until we rotted.

Houses0003

We had three decent sized bedrooms for the kids, an en suite master bath, and a powder room on the main floor. It was also a brand new house we watched them build. I had three toilets to clean but it was still manageable to keep the activities of three kids in order as well as the house.

Again, my husband and I worked very hard on the back yard to make it a play space for our kids. To this day, that was their favorite backyard.

This is the house we lived in when our oldest started kindergarten and our second started the next year. My dream was that they would go through elementary, junior high, and high school with all the same kids/friends.

Our youngest turned one in this house. We had much more room for parties and many great memories. The magical time of childhood dreams.

Then…..one day, I took our oldest to a birthday party and just happened to pass by a new housing development. What the heck, I thought, I’m going to go look at the model home…just because.

Houses0004

I LOVED that house! So I drug my husband through the model home, and with a bunch of financial finagling we moved. The house wasn’t far from our old neighborhood so all three of our kids would remain in the same schools. I still had three toilets to clean but the house was still manageable, inside and out.

Then my husband received a job promotion that we could not let pass him by.

So, we moved…..

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Nothing Can Last Forever – Part 3

  1. joey says:

    Haha. Yeah. I always like to think we’re in our forever house. I tell my husband that if he wants me to move, the new house has to be better, the land has to be better, the neighborhood has to be better, the walkability has to be better — there’d better be a huge raise, a moving stipend — I don’t want to move anymore. I really want my kids to finish school here.
    I really liked having our bath, their bath and the guest bath, but honestly, I’m really glad we only have 1.5 now. Much less cleaning and yelling! lol

    • April says:

      You never know what life is going to throw at you right around the corner. Crap…was that even a proper sentence? I’m feeling a bit emotional this morning about all sorts of things–one I should let go of but my mind keeps repeating the same, over and over.

      • joey says:

        Aw. hugs I’m sorry you’re goin through that right now. It was a sentence I understood. I know it well. I prefer to think that pleasant surprises are around the corner. Truly, because of fear, I dislike corners and try to focus on the current path…Why do we even need corners? Can I get a nice long stretch? Why aren’t the buildings round? So I get it. I so get it.

  2. mewhoami says:

    That’s a lot of moving you’ve done and we haven’t even reached the final chapter of updates yet. I’ll normally do anything I must to avoid moving, however moving has been on my mind a lot lately. Time will tell.

  3. aviets says:

    Gosh, I can’t imagine doing all that moving! But how great that you kept finding houses you loved.

    • April says:

      You, my friend, are the person/family I’m most envious of. How great it must be to have a home that no other home could live up to.

      • aviets says:

        I moved a ton when I was a kid – due to job transfers and separation and then divorce. So even though our house was way too small when all five of us were here, and even though it’s always I desperate need of some repair or a makeover, I’m really happy in it. I’m sure the story would be very different if I were the type of person who loved having people over and entertaining. This house is definitely not good for that.

        • April says:

          I would have been happy to stay in one house because we moved a bit when I was young—all at critical points…like midway through 6th grade and before my junior and senior year of high school. Anyway, that’s why I like the Missouri house. It’s just right for two. I guess when my kids come to visit they will have the shed we just fixed up, the sofa, or the Super 8. We will have no room at the inn.

  4. Bradley says:

    I’m enjoying this series. We had a house in Scottsdale, Arizona that we were certain was going to be the last place we’d stay. We loved Arizona. Well, like your husband, I was offered a promotion that I couldn’t refuse…it makes me especially interested to read the next installment.

  5. I hear you. We bought our 2nd home as our “5 year” home. We were there 14 years. LOL. But we did move on and we are glad we did. We now are living outside of Phoenix in an amazing house. As they say best laid plans…… I look forward to reading about the new house.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I want to move. The mere thought of going back over to the other side of the Mississippi hounds me day and night.

    Both of those are huge–humongous houses! I’d never need that much room. I’m a Feng Shui person all the way.

    Still, lovely homes. 🙂

    • April says:

      It’s funny, or odd….I always liked the small. Except for one house that I fell in love with, it’s my husband who picked the one we are currently in. I should have been the voice of reason but I was so overwhelmed. We looked at so many houses in two days. I just gave in to the one my husband liked the best.

Comments are closed.