Nothing Can Last Forever – Part 2

Our second home was a brand new home. In fact, we were able to watch the house being built.

Houses0002

I was determined to stay in that house so that our kids could start in one school and go through the progression to high school without having to change schools.

My husband and I worked very hard to create a backyard just for kids. My husband and dad built a huge shed in the back, a big sandbox for the kids and a big play area for them to play in.

It was the house our little ones went Trick-Or-Treating for the first time.

Our daughter turned one in that house. We had more room for parties, but we were farther from our families. Not that far, but I suppose it was too far for most of them.

We lived there a couple of years before deciding to have another child. The big problem with that house is the fact that the kids’ bedrooms were TINY. A twin bed fit in them and a person could stand in between the bed and the closet. That was it. Not big enough to fit two girls or two boys in…depending what our third child would be.

I have some pretty dark, extreme anxiety memories from this time period, but the good far outweigh the bad.

We brought our third child home to this house. We had far outgrown the place.

So, we moved……

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Nothing Can Last Forever – Part 2

  1. Even the best laid plans can never account for the magnitude of possibilities the future holds.

  2. Ahhh. Bittersweet. I’m having a bit of house nostalgia at the moment. The house that we built and the first and only house we had ever owned (we now own it and the one we’re currently living in) holds so many memories. Writing about this is a good idea. Thanks for the spark of inspiration!

    • April says:

      I envy you. I had friends down the street. They had lived in that house through 6 kids and were still living there 20+ years after we moved from my childhood home.

      • Gosh, I realize now I got distracted mid-sentence. Ahhh. I meant to say that the first house we built and owned is about to go on the market to sell. We lived there nine years and moved for my husband’s job. That’s why I’m having house nostalgia. It was/is a great house. I was excited to move, but I now see so much about that house that I love. Sigh. But…it was time to move on.

  3. mewhoami says:

    That’s just even more proof that we never what tomorrow will hold. It sounds like there was more in store for your family than maybe you had even bargained for, and that’s a wonderful thing.

  4. joey says:

    We built our first home, too. At the time, it was grand, perhaps even grander than necessary. I often comment that if we’d lived there the whole time, we’d have to live in our eldest daughter’s room and the three girls would have filled up the master suite. (Really, that room was enormous, French doors, almost 1/4 of the square footage, with a huge bath and two closets. Terrible waste of space when I look back on it…)

  5. I like these travels through people’s lives via their homes. What wonderful memories you are sharing. It’s nice that your moves were because family grows…. so if you have to leave a nice home, that is a fine reason. 😉

  6. aviets says:

    It must have been so hard to leave those two houses, with all the memories in them.

    • April says:

      My dream was to have one home until we retired and then stayed there until we died. I envy people who do that.

Comments are closed.