That Stinkin’ Thing I Do

It’s almost noon.

I’m still in my pajamas. I have taken the dog out in my pjs one time and hopefully, the next time she has to go out, I will have taken a shower and dressed for the day. (my daytime clothing choices can be bad, so it may not be a bad thing traipsing around in my pjs)

Throughout life stages we have routines. You know, the one that starts with an alarm to get to work on time. If you sleep through said alarm, the day is totally screwed.

For me, the next stage was stay-at-home mom. The babies became my alarm clock and dictated my daily routine.

Now…as an under qualified, old person that nobody but McDonalds will hire, I have a new routine.

I usually wake up by 7:30….that’s after initially waking up at 5:00 when my husband starts to exercise before going to his place of employment. After a tiny feeling of guilt that I should get up and exercise too, I turn over and sleep for another 2 1/2 hours. Every single day, I have to talk myself into getting out of bed.

If it weren’t for my routine of taking my medications on time, and the whine of the cats begging for food. Oh, and letting the dog out before it’s too late. I would be in bed at noon and beyond.

The grocery store avoidance is a bad routine, and I want to make it stop. (It’s the reason I’m in my pjs at noon). I find all kinds of things to distract me until I finally realize that I won’t be going to the store today.

sigh

My therapist suggested I turn things into a habit. I like making positive thinking a habit, I like knitting as a habit. I cannot make grocery shopping an enjoyable habit. Geesh! What a waste of time. If I would just go and get it over with, I would have all day to do something else beside feel guilty.

So….I’m going in. I will make an attempt to notice all that is beautiful in the grocery store. The smells that make me buy stuff I shouldn’t. The music that distracts me so that I buy stuff I shouldn’t. The line I have to stand in to pay for the food I shouldn’t be buying.

don’t suggest making a list. I always have a list. It is written according to how things are arranged in the store. Remember…..my mission, should I choose to accept it…..get in, get out.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to That Stinkin’ Thing I Do

  1. mewhoami says:

    Your list is like mine. It is written in order by department, by row. Although there are always interesting people to see at the store, it is by far one of my least liked activities. Good luck!

  2. Bradley says:

    “Now…as an under qualified, old person…” Made me laugh. I feel the same way. As for grocery shopping – ugh,

  3. aviets says:

    Here’s a stupid thing I hate about the grocery. I go so regularly I sort of know many of the employees, and can exchange pleasantries. But as an introvert that makes me feel slightly ill, when others would think it a lovely part of the day. Bleh.

  4. joey says:

    I write my list in the order I go through as well. Grocery shopping is sorta my personal Hell. Maybe because it never effing stops, maybe because so much sensory overload…I dunno.

    I wanted badly to stay in my pj’s today, but I had to do things. Tomorrow doesn’t look good, either. But maybe Sunday. Maybe.

    I understand how you feel. You know what I actually rise early for? Thursday Doors. I wake up 40 minutes early and I like, live for the moment my post is done and I can drink my coffee and gawk at doors in peace. Now I need something for the other 4 days a week…

    • April says:

      You know, once I get in the car I’m fine. It doesn’t mean I’m in a good mood to get the grocery shopping done. It’s just the getting going. It isn’t every week either. For some reason I have huge burps in my mood that make me want to isolate myself.

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Maybe it’s your mission that’s wrong, April. I wish I had my own vehicle so I could go to the grocery store to browse through the aisles much the same as I would a knick-knack shop or antiques store. That’s how I found the Chia tea I just must have one huge mug of every day. That day, I still didn’t have a car and my husband was with me trying to zoom up and down the aisles, but he go sidetracked in the meat department, so I went browsing.

    • April says:

      My husband goes terribly slow through the store. When I shop with him, I zip through the areas (mostly the exterior of the store), I get what’s on my list, throw it in the basket to give him something to do—rearrange the basket—while I go gather some more. You’re tea sounds like worthwhile time spent in the stinkin’ grocery store.

  6. reocochran says:

    I am not crazy about shopping. It is weird for a brief two years in the last 10 years I had a fun and funny boyfriend who I loved grocery shopping. Once I get inside to shop, I get many of the same things, yogurt, eggs, tuna, milk, veggie and fruits for snacks, and a couple of microwave dinners! 🙂 I have been procrastinating so long that I have to go soon. . . . take care and enjoy the weekend, April! 🙂

    • April says:

      I don’t know why I procrastinate because from the moment I get in my car to the moment I return, I can drive to the store, shop, and drive back in 40 minutes—tops.

      • reocochran says:

        For me, silly woman that I am, it is about missing how much fun Mark made this. Not any of my husbands, just this one fisherman/boyfriend. I am now contemplating a new relationship and hope that Joy, jokes and smiles will be part of this one, April. I need to have more adult fun, although I would never quit my Nana duties. Lol

  7. suzjones says:

    I admit that the weekly grocery shopping is a chore to me. Wandering around stores and browsing at things I like is a whole other story although that gets rather stale after the first hour and I can’t wait to get out.
    The thing I have found that gets me motivated to shop these days is the fact that I wear a pedometer and I’m trying to get my step count up. Works every time right now. 🙂

    • April says:

      Yes…I have one of those step trackers. Maybe I had better get it out of the drawer and start wearing it. Good idea, Sue!

  8. I have seriously considered ordering my groceries through Amazon. I just don’t know that much about it and would feel better about it if I could talk with someone who does. In the meantime, I go once a week and treat myself to a Starbucks and drink it while I shop. It’s my reward for making myself get the shopping done!

  9. Gallivanta says:

    LOL, this was so me today. Dragged myself out of my pjs and managed to get to the supermarket by 3.30pm. I loath supermarket shopping unless I am doing it with one of my siblings or a good friend.

  10. Tina Miller says:

    Well…you are not alone in letting the dogs out in the pjs around noon…or gasp! 2pm! LOL Screw them neighbors if they think I need “real clothes” to be a “real person”! I am comfy and that’s all that matters, right? Just because we’re in pjs doesn’t make us lazy or less than anyone else…they’re just clothes. It’s just perception, unless that perception bothers you…be comfy!

Comments are closed.