A Little Fledgling

One of the buildings on our property is a little gardening shed. Not too sure I will use it much, I love working in the yard but I’m not thinking I will be having a garden. But who knows what the future will bring.

Since we were focusing on the outside during this last trip, my husband had the pleasure of cleaning the shed. Not much in there, really, old pots, tomato cages…..and a little bird’s nest. I told him to leave it because I thought it was a beautiful little nest.

DSC00157

The eaves were open so the birds and the bees were getting in there ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, my husband was placing mesh on the eaves to keep them out. Lots of hammering ensued.

I was checking out his progress when he told me we had a problem. A problem with that house, to me, receives an eye roll. But, I went along with it.

There were babies in the nest and the parents were coming in and out, feeding them.

My husband kept hammering since the birds didn’t seem to mind. Soon we found a little baby on the potting bench. My first thought was that my husband’s hammering disturbed the nest so I made him stop working on the shed. We closed the door and walked away. I worried about the little fledgling and I feared it would die….then we googled “when you see a baby bird out of a nest”. Our decision was to leave it alone.

DSC00159

We quietly checked on the fledgling every day until the birds were gone and the nest was empty.

The shed was finished.

Thanks to Google, and the comical way they described what to do, we learned that it’s best to leave nature alone….including cows.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in From Suburbia to Farmland and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Little Fledgling

  1. Sometimes patience is the best policy, even though it’s so darn hard.

  2. Bradley says:

    “,,,itโ€™s best to leave nature alone”

    I forget sometimes, but it is very true

  3. mewhoami says:

    Adorable little guy and props to you two for holding off on your project to keep em’ safe.

    • April says:

      I’m not sure if there was another one or not, but they went along their way. It’s amazing how that little thing learned how to fly all the way up to the eaves to get out.

  4. aviets says:

    What a fun little interlude in your house-work week!

  5. You guys are good animal people. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    The number of birds on this planet have dwindled. This, of course, means that seeds from plants aren’t being distributed as they once were. Every living thing has it’s purpose here. Thank you for saving this little bird.

  7. reocochran says:

    You caught the baby bird so well, looking out the window makes it seem so cute and like a real human, with thought. Not a bird! I have had to make my kids take animals back to where they found them, April. My son when in high school used to walk the railroad tracks home. He knew to walk along it, well a few baby ducklings were stuck in the creosote (black tar-like stuff), so he took his hat off and put them in there and carted them home. I allowed him to wash their feet. Then we called the humane society and I let them talk to him. He actually got teary-eyed. We had bunnies in a hutch outside for 4H and he thought he could “raise” these ducklings. Well, good thing I walked back with him, taking my babysitting clients with us. Because Mama Duck was quacking and it was really sad because she and her Papa were walking almost in circles. He set the cap down and out the baby ducklings ran to their parents and they were warmly received. There is a kind of urban legend that animals won’t take back their young if humans have touched them but this didn’t hold true and the humane society also confirmed what you found on the Internet. Way to go, April. Hope you don’t mind my story since it is a special one I like to think about while Jamie is a great Dad and busy man, I remember his tender side. He still has it with the younger kids but he can be rather “sharp” with Lara who is 11 going on 16 with her attitude and her real Daddy bought her a cell phone and a tablet already!

Comments are closed.