Life In The Rural Areas

We didn’t exactly work the entire time we were visiting rural America. We had some excitement as well.

The first, a cow running amok. I love reading this little town’s police blotter because there are weekly postings about an animal outside of its confines.

The neighbors up around the corner from us just bought a couple of cows. It’s something the neighbor does each year. He buys a couple of poor looking cows, nurses them back to health and sells them….keeps him young.

Anyway, he is having some health issues and was instructed to do nothing for a couple of days. When my husband saw a black cow meandering down the road, he was concerned. Knowing that the neighbor just bought a couple of black cows, my husband called the neighbors to see if they had a cow missing. The petite 80-year-old wife had to go check and told my husband if it was one of theirs, then he would have to help her round up the cow.

I could imagine the scene of a suburbanite-for-life, and an 80-year-old, tiny woman rounding up a wayward cow.

IMG_0777

I suppose we are going to have to learn how to rope a cow….apparently, it seems the best way to catch one. 😀

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in From Suburbia to Farmland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Life In The Rural Areas

  1. aviets says:

    Yup. A rope and a leash. Wouldn’t it be fun to pretend you’re taking a little cow for a walk as you get it back to its farm! 😀

  2. mewhoami says:

    How fun! The thrills of country life – doesn’t get any better than that.

  3. CAROL GARNER says:

    the fun adventures of April and company……xoxo

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    A docile cow isn’t hard to rope, however, if the cow is scared… I’m sure your husband did okay at it.

    • April says:

      He just called the non-emergency police number. We didn’t see him on the road anymore, so I guess the cow ended up where it should have been 🙂

  5. reocochran says:

    I love this story and I wrote a post about when I was a young mother and we lived out in the country and FOUR cows were standing in our front yard while my two little children were looking out the picture window at them they had come close enough to see their breath sending puffs of “smoke” I ended up calling the sheriff, since I had no idea how to get them back to their home farm. I was laughing at the sheriff, taking his big black hat off and shouting “Shoo!” and then he rang the door bell, had rounded and lined them up on the street. He asked to use the phone, I am wondering if he was afraid to use the Dispatch? Maybe people would be laughing at this burly Sheriff? He was standing in my kitchen describing his valiant efforts to get them on the road and wondering how to get them to head on home down the road. I chuckled inside and my little children were 2 and 4 in their jammies, eating oatmeal. I offered him a cup of coffee while he waited for his “back up” which came about 15 minutes later, the two of them led the cows back to their farm. I wish I had a camera or my kids could remember their awe, while the sheriff used quite a lot of exclamatory sentences with a few “shoots” and “hecks” thrown in! Smiles!

  6. reocochran says:

    I should see what the post is called. . . funny that it happens more than we know, I guess and I am not trying to “top” your story but just add to it, April! xo

  7. So….was it her cow? Did he help??? Did they get it???? 🙂

Comments are closed.