Sunday on Thursday With April

I feel a need to write some gratitude moments. Someone may need a reminder to look around and notice the little stuff.

The following made me smile or think about how the little things make a difference :

  • I love the way my ugly dog looks so beautiful to me
  • the way the candle I’m burning smells
  • the number of times ugly dog makes me get up and down to let her in and out–it adds steps to my fitness tracker
  • salad for breakfast
  • the fact that the old cat missed treat time and I wasn’t going to track her down. It just so happened she was in the potty.
  • Oddly enough, storm clouds. While I hate the grey, storm clouds are interesting until a funnel develops
  • when the car finally warms up
  • for that matter, butt warmers in the car (I know, a luxury and I love it)
  • a warm shower — the feel of the water
  • the vacuum cleaner broke again and I can’t fix it this time- no vacuuming (which could be a bad thing)
  • text to husband: Vacuum broken. So is wife. He told me no way, I’m loved. Aww.
  • knowing my kids learned a very important *sarcasm* lesson from their dad–a sandwich can be made of anything….pasta, casserole, etc. If a piece of bread will wrap around it, it’s a sandwich
  • the feeling of soft socks

Well, I could probably go on with the little things but I think you can catch my drift. Life may seem monotonous, dark, and worthless…but there are many little things that add up to something worthwhile. Keep your eyes peeled.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday on Thursday With April

  1. joey says:

    Those are pretty nice smiles πŸ™‚ Text with husband is perfect ❀ I love it!

    My vacuum died a while back and it costs so much to repair, we bought a cheaper one. I hate it. I can’t wait to get my old vacuum fixed. sigh

  2. mewhoami says:

    My stepdad used to make sandwiches out of everything – some of the most disgusting little things I’d ever seen a person consume. But, he sure did love them. My mother looooved butt warmers. For me, they just bring about a mental wave of confusion. “Is that the seat or did I wet myself?”

  3. Jenni D says:

    I love these. I ALWAYS need reminders, but I especially need reminders this week. Thank you!

  4. aviets says:

    Such a sweet text from your husband.

    After a crappy week I needed that reminder to look for little happy things. Thank you, thank you, thank you for being you and for sharing your gratitude moments.

  5. reocochran says:

    Some of your great things to make you smile are on my own list, April! πŸ™‚ I have a plug in scent burner which has gingerbread in it still. Interestingly enough, it doesn’t encourage me to look for treats. The smell is like your candle in that it makes me feel like I am “home.”
    I like nice comments like your husband made about you. This was a very special one and if it is on a text, I would save it! πŸ™‚ Happy Saturday and hope you have a wonderful Sunday, too.

    • April says:

      I will save the text, but I think he was thinking I was having a bad day, which it was but not that bad. Who wouldn’t like to get out of vacuuming? πŸ™‚

      • reocochran says:

        I am not fond of vacuuming because it stirs up cobwebs and dust. Twice the hassle, sometimes!
        Silly animals are fun to love and also to watch, April. Polar bears, pebguins, kitties, puppies and other baby animals cheer me up. Will you put a green hat (St. Pat’s Day) on “ugly” dog so we can all chuckle at him? πŸ™‚

  6. smilecalm says:

    wonderful short list
    of happy, smiley
    conditions πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.