….and she began to knit

I have learned some things in the last week.

One, I’m going in the wrong direction with my weight loss program–not good.

Two, I haven’t knitted for weeks.

Three, I can’t read blogs and walk on the treadmill like I thought I would. In order to read, I walk slower and don’t work up a sweat. Of course any movement is better than no movement, but I think I will switch to music or something else.

Four, it’s okay to take a break from the world. Better to take a break than to break down.

Five, breaking down projects into little steps works great–it’s the patience that needs work.

So—I shall knit—because I have to.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to ….and she began to knit

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    I think I’d get motion sickness trying to walk and read at the same time. LOL Or I’d end up on my ass when I trip over my own feet.
    When I used to walk the treadmill, I’d either use music or watch something on tv that was mindless but entertaining.
    Knit on…it really is a good way to relieve stress!

    • April says:

      I’ve almost fallen. Yes, knitting is something that will calm me for the moment.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        No falling!
        I try to see my crocheting time as my meditation time. I’m trying to stop looking at ways OTHER people meditate (as in doing nothing and trying to think nothing) and finding what feel like honest “zen” moments for me. Crocheting is one of them, so I’m trying to see that not so much as “avoidance” but more as my moment to relax and not think. πŸ™‚

        • April says:

          That’s what I do while I’m knitting. When I have a problem to think through, that usually comes in the middle of the night. πŸ˜€

  2. I’m not on a program, but I’m going the wrong way with my weight loss too in the new year… the cold makes me crave the couch and food! I agree…we need to take those breaks so we don’t “break”.

    • April says:

      I’m really not eating bad things. I did have a little Valentine candy, but I have pretty much watched what I’ve been eating but the scale seems stuck on one number. I will see tomorrow at weigh-in.

  3. mewhoami says:

    You are so right about reading on the treadmill. Crossed eyed and nausea – no good. I think everyone needs a break from the world sometimes, to avoid getting overloaded. Taking that break is perfectly okay, so when you take it enjoy every moment of it.

  4. Keep knitting but also make sure that you take regular breaks.. and the world of Blog and Social networks will still be there when you get back feeling more refreshed.. Believe me… Just did that. πŸ™‚ Hugs to you April ❀

  5. joey says:

    I can’t walk and read. I can’t even cycle and read. I think you’re right to choose music.

    Knit away πŸ™‚

  6. I can walk and read. Ride in the car and read. Ride my exercise bike and read. But I cannot knit.

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Just last night after going to one of the many fast-food joints, husband and I went to Wal-Mart so he could buy shoes for work. I went nosing around through the isles while he was trying on shoes. Lo and Behold! There’s a sewing and knitting section again near the back of the store. Mind you, the selection of fabric and types of yarn is still small, but the point is the store finally got a brain!. Walk through the discount stores. Really, it’s good exercise. ❀

    • April says:

      I walked around the western wear store. My husband wanted new pair of boots. It’s a HUGE store. Not as big as Walmart, but a close second.

  8. reocochran says:

    I always admit some “defeat” in my getting caught up with my blogging. I need to program the words into my brain, April:
    “I can only do as much as I am able to, in one day.”
    Guilt is a very powerful driving force like a “demon” haunting me. I hope you can figure out a “mantra, ” April.
    β™‘ Please don’t give up on the weight loss, music is very motivating! Fun choice and better to work up a sweat! πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      That’s a great mantra, Robin. I was just talking to Sensible Girlfriend telling her to just say no…her first response is that she didn’t want to be selfish. I don’t think I made an impression that taking care of oneself isn’t selfish. Hopefully, one day she will learn to say no to so many things.

  9. aviets says:

    Very smart to pick up your knitting. I think it’s very meditative.

Comments are closed.