The Poop Patrol

To some this may sound like a repeat, and some of it is, you aren’t having a deja vu moment

I love being outside.

In my own little world.

Listening to the birds and digging in the dirt. I feel closer to my dad when working in the yard.

Three days after we moved to the South during peak humidity season, I got sick. I had one of those deep coughs that wouldn’t go away.

A year later, I finally went to who I now call my Primary Torturest. The one I get lectures from and the I told you sos. Really, we have a great doctor-patient relationship, I just like to make her seem meaner than she is. She diagnosed me with asthma. What? I thought a person got asthma as a child and then grew with it. Apparently, that isn’t true.

So I got a second opinion.

Then a third.

I’m not going into the long version again but eventually a small nodule was discovered on my left lung. Ah, it was nothing to worry about they said, we chase nodules all the time and they end up being benign.

So I got a second opinion.

Then a third.

Now I have had a portion of my left lung removed and it was a stage 1a lung adenocarcinoma. Oh how overjoyed the doctors were being they found it in time when it was the most curable with surgery. So…what would have happened if I did what they wanted me to do…..wait and see?

Anyway, my breathing sucks because I don’t do what the doctors tell me to do in order to rebuild some lung capacity.

With that cancer diagnosis, four plus years ago I kinda stopped working in the yard. The place I enjoyed listening to the birds sing, trying to identify each. That was until the people behind us started hoarding a bunch of barking dogs. I turned to listening to music…classical is the best.

Even while scooping up dog poop.

I need to get outside more and stop thinking I’m going to stop breathing at any given moment.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Poop Patrol

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    We have to be our own health advocates. It sucks, because (especially in the beginning) we really have no understanding of what could be going on in our bodies. We’re laypeople, THEY are the doctors. THEY should know. But instead WE have to know.
    It sucks. It sucks. It sucks. THEY found it, riiiiiight. No, YOU persisted. That’s what really happened.
    Meanwhile, I find that picking up dog poop in the yard, as gross as it may be, can be some really good zen-time for me. I think of nothing but the poop, the sun, the grass, the shadows, the temperature of the air… and not punching a hole through the poop bags with a finger. LOL

    • April says:

      It’s exhausting being an advocate for yourself or loved one. The fear alone is hard to deal with. It’s hard to know which questions to ask if we don’t know what they are talking about. My nodule could have been benign….but it wasn’t. Anyway, except for the smell, doing anything outside is nice…even scooping poop.

  2. aviets says:

    Stop me if you’ ve heard this one…when I was trying everything to figure out why I was missing half my field of vision in my left eye (for eight months) the third doctor I went to suggested that if nothing had changed in 6 months I should consider an MRI. Even as much as I hate doctors and procedures, I immediately said, “Wait a minute. Since I’ve been screwing around with this so long wouldn’t it be a good idea if we just went ahead and did the MRI?” A week later I was told I had a tumor on my pituitary gland, and soon after that I had brain surgery. It turned out to be benign, but it still could have done a fair amount of damage to my optic nerve had I not insisted on moving forward. Sheesh. I’m so glad you pushed it, too!

    • April says:

      If you told me this, I don’t remember reading it and I give it a big :O I thought they were suppose to listen to us. My suspicion has a bit to do with the paperwork they have to perform to make the insurance companies happy. I can’t even get a flu shot at my doctor–she sends me to one of those minute clinics–because they won’t know right away if they will be reimbursed for the shot……..or that’s the story I get.

      • aviets says:

        Nice. Because obviously it’s all about the money, not about your health. Follow up to my story – I had five different eye tests, from various doctors. I passed everyone with normal readings. So none of the docs had a clue what was going on, and their attitude was very clearly, “you’re obviously imagining this.” My blood pressure had to have permanent damage from me holding myself back from slapping them all.

  3. reocochran says:

    I think repeating things for blogs is okay. It is informative for newcomers. I learn new things when people repeat things. More sinks in each time, April. 🙂 Keep your chin up and I appreciate your positive energy and caring nature.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    It’s hard to get rid of those fears that aren’t founded anymore. Personally, I can hardly wait for the warmer months so I can sit outside and just look a nature.

  5. joey says:

    Goodness. I can only imagine your fear relapses. I’m sorry about the barking dogs, gah, but yeah, get out and enjoy the fresh air 🙂

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Hope Spring is closer now!

Comments are closed.