A New Way of Understanding

I have a pretty open mind. I hear the ideas or opinions of others…ponder them for a while and readjust if I find my thinking is flawed or negative. Maybe I’m missing the other side of the story.

There is a certain American football player I really dislike. The guy seems arrogant and does some inconsiderate things in public.

Anyway, I was talking — well, I should really admit I was trash talking — when a friend of mine pointed out that the exuberance of this young man is due to his love of the game.

Ponder.

Ponder.

Ponder.

We all are proud of our accomplishments. Some will rub it in the face of the opponent during competitions. This particular football player just so happens to act in this manner.

Have I changed my mind about him? Slightly, but I certainly can’t wait until he matures.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A New Way of Understanding

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Yes, sometimes maturity helps. 🙂

  2. mewhoami says:

    There is definitely a thin line between pride in our achievements and just plain ol’ pride.

  3. aviets says:

    Interesting. My problem with football players in general is that they’re so pumped up with macho posturing and testosterone they don’t really behave like rational, socialized people. Not all, but a whole lot of them.

  4. Glynis Jolly says:

    I would ask you who you’re referring to, but I know you’d rather keep that to yourself. Albeit, I’d like to think that the football player you’re mentioning is the same one I, too, believe to be extremely arrogant. He reminds me of another player who use to be on the same team before he retired and became one of the owners.

  5. reocochran says:

    April, I am from Cleveland and wasn’t crazy about LeBron leaving us “high and dry.” Now he’s back. My brothers put his situation in a way I could understand: “You want a young man to take advantage of opportunities and to make enough money that when he or she is unable to play sports, can provide for their family, right?” I really liked the raunchy buy hilarious “Train Wreck” movie where LeBron I’d a softer gentler guy, friends with Bill Heder. (SNL Guy who can mimic Rod Serling doing the Twilight Zone show.) Anyway, I am a fan now of this man. You may or may not change your mind?

    • April says:

      We shall see. My favorite NFL team has some who display rotten sportsmanship and I like them. I kind of felt a little two-faced when I wrote this. Maybe the kid who is quarterback of the Carolina Panthers will grow up to become a leader of a men.

      • reocochran says:

        I hope he will become a better person as he ages. I like the idea of being a leader, maybe one who visits children in hospitals. They love seeing sports uniforms!
        We are not our best selves while young, I was rather self-centered and not as caring about how others felt. I learned one of my acquaintances was hurt by a careless comment in high school. She told me at my 30th reunion. Too bad she didn’t tell me sooner, I may have tried to apologize. At the reunion I told her I was sorry but it didn’t really fix anything at that point in time!

  6. I’m a Panthers fan and I like Cam for his game-play. But, I agree – he comes across cocky at times. I haven’t really seen him act like that in interviews though. It seems to mainly be while he is playing. I think he does a good job getting in his opponent’s minds, and pissing them (and all of America lol) off. I’m hoping he will tone it down a bit. Hopefully he will mature.

    • April says:

      I have to admit he is a great QB and athlete all around, but being a Seahawks fan, he pissed a bunch of us off when he grabbed our ’12’ flag and threw it on the ground at the end of the playoff game. No worries, we will catch them next year. 😀

Comments are closed.