Home

No intended grocery shopping trip being avoided today, just had an urge to babble-write.

Since we have been married, we have lived in 5 different houses. We would have stayed in the last house if my husband’s promotion didn’t bring us to Atlanta.

My parents? I’m not going to start counting how many times they have moved, but every time I would visit, I felt like I was home. I feel at home in the place my mom has lived the longest–my dad’s presence is felt–but I have never lived there….just visited.

I will never forget our shock when my maternal grandma and grandpa moved in the late 1970’s from the only house known to my siblings and me.

Then there was that day…

The day after my brother’s funeral–the day before my grandma’s funeral—my extended family stood in my grandma’s and grandpa’s empty house, and tears formed in my eyes. Even though Christmas gatherings for kids at their house was pure torture, it’s what I grew up with and it was gone. Poof.

So what makes a house a home? Love.

All my kids have voiced their wishes to return to the Seattle area. One, our daughter, did that 7 1/2 years ago and has only been back for visits. She lived with us in Georgia for 2 1/2 years….does she feel at home when she returns?

Our youngest has moved back in and has become the new vampire in the basement. Does he feel at home?

Our oldest stayed overnight, Christmas Eve, on an air mattress in his brother’s old room because his old room had been filled with exercise equipment. Did he feel at home?

I think my husband and I are at a crossroads. We have that little house his dad built in Missouri that we have come to love, but we drag our feet and create many excuses to avoid setting a definite move date.

Will we feel at home there?

Are you….dear husband….thinking you can sell the house and buy some hunting land and stay right here in Georgia? Huh? Huh?

To me a house is just a house. A home is where we choose to hang our hats and share our love. (ooooo….how mushy, right?)

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Home

  1. mewhoami says:

    I love this because you are absolutely right. Home is where love is. No matter where my mom has lived (and she’s lived many places), I always feel at home when I visit her. For you though, moving may be entirely different…just because it will be up to you to make it ‘home’. But, I think that no matter where you go, you’ll find happiness.

  2. CAROL GARNER says:

    as they sat” home is where the heart is”xoxoox

  3. ecteedoff says:

    I do think love makes a home, but I also think location and memories matter as well in terms of lifestyle. For some, country living makes them most content. For others, living in the city is always where they feel settled. I don’t like living here where I grew up because I actually associate it with negative memories. It sounds like your kids are older tho – and as someone who went to college a while back (looooong while back), even when I came home it was different. It felt different because I was different. Even my love for my mom was different – but it was still a love I have for no one else. I think it’s more important to be able to return to the people rather than the home itself. But that’s just me. 🙂

  4. April I can so appreciate this. I struggled for a long time associating ‘home’ with where I lived. I kept trying to make the house I lived in feel like ‘home’. It finally happened when I realized I couldn’t decorate a house in to feeling like home. ❤

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    A beautiful post, April. It’s odd how a house will affect a person. I’ve felt out of place for quite a while because no matter where I am, it doesn’t feel like home.

    • April says:

      My kids always joke that I don’t fully move in because I don’t place any photos out to share. I think I find my home within myself and that is why I can find a house to call a home.

  6. aviets says:

    I think that’s a very healthy attitude you have. I really don’t know how I’d feel about trying to be at home in a different place – we’ve lived in this house for so long, and it has so many memories. I suppose I’ll find out one day…

    • April says:

      I have always envied people who have a home for many years that eventually the grandchildren will visit. That was my dream….until we moved. 🙂

Comments are closed.