Guilty Rant

I’m not exactly a morning person. I love being up early in the morning—alone. Just my coffee and me.

I have written/complained about my morning posse that greets me, and their demands that come before my coffee. Since that post, we have lost the Scrawny Old Man who required a special diet.

Today, since our youngest moved home, we have the grand puppy hanging around most of the time. She took the spot of Scrawny Old Man.

So, here’s the thing….

Naked Floofy Cat is on a special diet.

Snotty Nose Cat is on a different special diet.

Little Peanut Princess Cat eats regular cat food.

Old dog cannot go up and down the stairs any more so we must take her out the front door to go potty. (Our house sits on a hill with a basement under the main floor–the backyard is lower than the front–in other words, we lived on a sloped lot).

The dog’s water dish is out the back door and she likes to lie like a sea lion and bask in the sun. Because we can’t let her go down the stairs without fear of her falling all the way to the bottom, a baby gate was installed so that when the grand puppy has to go out, we can open the baby gate. Of course our son could just take care of her and walk her or let her out the basement, but it seems I have inherited another posse member.

Old dog, goes out many times. Out back to drink and lounge. Back in. Out front to potty. Back in. Out back to drink and lounge. Back in. Out front……and it goes like this for over an hour.

In the meantime, I must watch that each cat is eating their designated meals, staying out of the other distracting delights of their tribe members. Do you know how fast a dog can move — even an old one — when there is cat food around and they want it?

I read blogs and write them on a laptop, sitting cross-legged on the couch. That little Snotty Nosed Cat eats a little, goes away, comes back and stands on my thigh wanting to eat a little more of her food. That part of my thigh is angry about all this which creates more frustration in an already coffee deprived grumpy old lady.

Don’t get me wrong! I love, love, love my animals but my solutions to the morning demands have to change.  I am the human after all. 😀

No comments are necessary–unless you want to–because I know I need to take a deep breath and find a new solution to my annoyances.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Guilty Rant

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    I’m still in awe of how long you’ve been able to accomplish these feats, ESPECIALLY in the morning. It’s clear to me that you love those animals. And beyond that, I have no suggestions for you for that crazy-ass schedule you keep. LOL

  2. mewhoami says:

    I know that you love them, but this post helps to reinforce the reason why we don’t have pets. I’m too selfish with my morning alone time. 🙂

  3. aviets says:

    I’ve always been sad that I couldn’t have a dog due to my husband’s allergies…but after reading this I’m feeling a little bit of relief that I don’t have a pet to take care of!

  4. CAROL GARNER says:

    cant thing of any other way to be annoyed..love our little furry friends..xoxoxo

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Are suggestions accepted? I’ll give a few anyway. I can always through them out the window or feed them to the puppy. #1. Give the morning responsibility of the puppy back to your son. He knows how to be a grownup and take responsibility. #2. Before feeding the cats, get your coffee perking. Put yourself and your laptop in close proximation of the cat bowls to keep cats out of each others food. #3. Old Dog is Old Dog. Potty breaks can’t wait, but baking in the sun can until later in the morning.

    I’ve had several dogs in my lifetime. Puppy are the most time consuming animals I know of. She’s a darling dog, that’s for sure, but please get your son to help because puppies are exhausting.

    • April says:

      My son does take care of his dog. Yesterday he had to leave early and it had an adverse effect on our morning routine. I have a routine that seems to work but I get sick and tired of it. I have a new plan I’m working on. The old dog will still need special attention, but the cats can eat in separate rooms. The ones that have doors on them. 😀

  6. 🙂 smiles… No wonder you are ready for Coffee!… xxx

  7. joey says:

    I understand. Many of our frustrations are caused by the ones we love, and are particularly frustrating in the morning. (because morning is icky)

Comments are closed.