Cluttered Mind

I have some serious crap moving around my mind that has decided to take up residence. I am working hard to let it go and don’t want to write about it.

So…..how do I deal with this kind of nonsense? I busy myself. Usually by knitting.

Here’s the progress I’m making by reducing my yarn hoard I wrote about here. I have completed one of these before. I deem them the ugly blankets. Yes, they are colorful and perhaps a conversation piece, but they don’t fit with anything we have.

Blanket

 

I have to finish some painting in one bedroom which is going to become my craft area. Then I will work on our bedroom and make it as close as I can come to a vision of comfort.

I no longer have too many issues with insomnia, but when I suffered those many years, I often wondered if it was our environment that was unsettling to me.

Thanks to Amy over at Mom Goes On, she has inspired me to finally do what I have dreamed of for the last 9 years. Wow….where does the time go? I’m sure she will have her project complete before I even start, but I will start and complete this task before the end of this year. 😀

This project will not be a DIY With My Spouse, I will only take into consideration his lack of desire for fru-fru design–which I’m with him on that particular design style. Neither will camouflage be a consideration.

Let’s see if I can do anything with our 1980s style bedroom furniture…

Hopefully, that will keep me busy enough to work through the troubling thoughts/memories I’m having. I have vaguely written and talked about what bothers me but I haven’t shared the deeply disturbing memories. Maybe I will find it necessary to write about the experience and actually publish it. Until then….busy, busy, busy.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cluttered Mind

  1. aviets says:

    Yes! Busy and productive is a good coping skill, I find. I’m really curious what your vision is for the bedroom. And it sounds like a fun challenge to update 80’s-style furniture. Ours is so cheap (think K-Mart) that even giving it to the closest thrift shop seems cruel…so we’re starting completely over on the furniture front.

    • April says:

      My vision is for a soft comfy looking bed with a warm color on the wall. I’m not really sure….maybe fancy schmanzy hotel or inn. One thing for sure…I have to get my sewing machine and all that other scrapbook, beads, and knitting out of the room.

      • aviets says:

        Yeah, all the crap that has to come out of our room is really daunting. That will have to happen next weekend when we paint and I’m dreading it.

  2. reocochran says:

    Sometimes writing it out on paper will help you and then burn it. Or saying it out loud may help but I imagine you have tried this through therapy. Some feel publishing bad experiences can help others. This will need to be your own personal decision, April. I hope you may feel better with new bedroom decorating project! 🙂 ♡

    • April says:

      I’ve tried to talk to my therapist but I talked about the event, not my feelings. I didn’t realize that they could bother me so many years later. I’ll work through it.

      • reocochran says:

        I really like colorful blankets in the winter, April. Do any of your grown children express an interest to add color to their living room with your homemade blankets? My kids and I used to bundle up under a rainbow colored crochet “throw” made by an elderly aunt. You will get through this and I appreciate your candor about how you felt mentally. Hugs, Robin

  3. inmycorner says:

    I find a change of scenery re-freshing as is decluttering (which is something I will begin on Monday!) Can’t wait to see the photos – I hope you will post! Good luck, busy, busy!

  4. Gallivanta says:

    When I finally got my son’s bedroom tidied and sorted and reorganised I felt so pleased. It makes such a difference to one’s well being to walk into a room and feel delighted by it. Enjoy your bedroom makeover. 🙂

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    You do seem to have a predicament with something from your past. Friend, you’re not alone in this. Some memories, though vivid in the mind, just can not and will not be brought forward for closure. The one thing one may be able to hope for though is acceptance of the issue/situation so it can be relocated in the mind where it isn’t agitating the person insistently. ❤

    I like your blanket. You say it doesn’t go with anything. Maybe it should be an accent for a setting instead. 😉

Comments are closed.