The End is Upon Us

Ah, here we are again. The end of another year. I’m not one for resolutions, but I do like to set goals. This year one of those goals will be to say a few more thankful prayers for each day I am blessed with—good or bad.

That’s not what I wanted to ramble about. It’s the traditions around the world I find interesting.

In Seattle, crowds gather at the bottom of the Space Needle and wait for a big fireworks show at midnight. We used to let our kids stay up, bang spoons against pans in the front yard along with the other neighborhood kids. By 12:10 am, we all had our teeth brushed and were in bed.

When we moved to Georgia, known as the Peach State, much to our amusement, we found the cityΒ of AtlantaΒ has a huge peach that drops like the big ball in New York. It still makes me giggle when they talk about the Peach Drop on the news.

This year we heard something to top the big peach.

In a town called Tallapoosa (one of my favorite words) Georgia, at midnight they have a possum drop. Yes, a possum. Now, all you animal activists, don’t get your feathers ruffled. The possum is taxidermied, or stuffed. He even has a name, it’s Spencer. Β I’ve had big laughs over this small town tradition–it is just plain funny to me.

Tallapoosa. Doesn’t it roll off the tongue nicely? It’s right up there with Chattahoochee and Okefenokee. Sorry…straying a bit here.

These days, with the kids all going different directions, we mostly have our cheese and crackers and bet if we can make it until midnight. On the television we go between watching the live feed from New York, or we watch the big peach drop in Atlanta. Either way, if we make it until midnight we pat ourselves on the back, have a quick smooch to bring in the new year, brush our teeth and are in bed by 12:10 am.

What kind of celebrations do you and your family have? Does your town/village/city have any peculiar celebration? If so, I’d love to hear them.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The End is Upon Us

  1. April says:

    We have a pelican drop here.. We will watch it from the t.v. and celebrate. Prayer and thankfulness are great goals to have for the New year. I hope you have a blessed year filled with gratitude and cheer 😊

  2. This year we are off to my Daughters πŸ™‚ and tomorrow my sons for lunch. πŸ™‚ Busy busy..
    Wishing you a Very Happy New Year may yours be blessed and a very Happy one.. Love Sue

  3. reocochran says:

    I really liked the Peach Drop sound and the stuffed Possum Drop, along wuth commenters addition of a Pelican Drop! πŸ™‚ We have the kids open the front door to greet the new year and we have them beat on pans with wooden spoons or use noisemakers to “scare” the old year out. We put silver under the welcome mat, one dime or spoon for each family member present for a “prosperous new year.” We return silver pieces back to places, after washing spoons, April. We like those silly blowers and hats, when kids are around. I like sauerkraut and kielbasa for new year’s good luck.
    I am not sure about this year, usually watch grandies except a few years with a boyfriend or lots of years with ex-hubbies. Wishing you and yours a very happy new year, April! β˜†β˜†β–ͺΒ€β–ͺβ˜†β˜†

  4. I didn’t know about all of these other drops! πŸ™‚ And yes, Tallapoosa is a wonderful name and sound. And I don’t really have tradition per se. Some years I stay up. Some years I don’t. Though the last few years have been with friends and family and will be again this year. So I guess ‘now’ I have a tradition of some sort.

  5. I have no tradition for new years sadly. Maybe in the next chapter of my life I’ll start one tho.

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    I hoped they dropped that possum on his head — hard. Can you tell I detest those ugly animals?

  7. Elouise says:

    What an informative post! And to think I spent much of my childhood in Georgia and never new about the peach or possum drops! Though it doesn’t really surprise me. Here in Philly, it’s all about fireworks–which I often don’t even hear because I’m traditionally sound asleep! The big New Year’s tradition here is an endless and mostly alcohol-laden parade through the city of Mummers in their beyond belief costumes. I’ve never seen it in person–it’s enough to watch it on TV! Happy New Year to you, April! And like your commenter’s handle above, may we both dobetteralways and have fun doing it! πŸ™‚
    Elouise

    • April says:

      I love some of the Native American names in the south. I also love that a person can say they are going to Rome, or Athens and lead others to believe you’re going on an international trip. hahaha!

      • Elouise says:

        Oh yes! I’m so in tune with going to Rome or Athens! What a hoot. I also loved the Native American Indian names in Savannah. For example, we always had our recess playtime (in grade school) in Chippewa Square. It’s one of over a dozen mini-parks plopped into the middle of three major streets leading into and out of the city. It was such fun hiding in the azalea bushes and racing each other on the sidewalks and using the big historic statue in the center of the square as home base. I could go on, but enough already! Have a great day.

        • April says:

          I love Savannah! My daughter and I took a trip there a couple of years ago. I can’t wait to go back. However, it won’t be in August again. Have a great day too!

  8. I had not heard of Spender before. That is just hilarious. Near us, Mobile has the moon pie drop and Pensacola has the pelican.
    My daughter and I have formed some informal traditions for New Year’s eve. We usually cuddle up on the couch and watch the festivities in New York. Last year she had the idea of since New York had confetti, that we should write down our hopes for the new year on little slips of paper that we tossed like confetti and midnight. That’s a good memory. At midnight we toast with sparkling cider. We didn’t have our New Year’s wish confetti this year, but we watched the festivities on tv, from the ball drop in New York to the Pelican in Pensacola. We toasted the new year. I put out a blessing jar today, and once a week, minimum, we each have to write down something good that happened to us that week and as 2016 comes to a close, we will again, no doubt watch the revelry on tv but we will have our jar of blessings to take out and read, remembering the good that was to be had in the year. I’m looking forward to it.

  9. Gallivanta says:

    A possum drop would go down well in NZ where possums are a dreadful pest.

Comments are closed.