She Pooped a Red Ribbon

I hesitated to publish this post this morning because it shows my immaturity so exquisitely. However, part of this maturing woman is the fact that she refuses to become so mature that life gets dull. So I look for nonsense in the serious.

We inherited a little cat from our youngest. The little one’s personal universe was constantly being violated by the grand puppy. She chose to live on the top of the kitchen cabinets so we took her in, to give her some peace.

All cats have different habits. I had a cat who loved to chew on plants. I haven’t been able to have plants since. Well….I do have some but I put them on a high shelf, thinking he couldn’t reach them. Silly me, some cats have wonderful jumping skills, but as he aged, his skill diminished.

I have a cat who can’t jump to save his life, and another really old one who is finding it hard to hoist herself up on the couch. Β I also had a cat who loved to eat string/thread….one time I saw a thread dangling from her mouth, I pried her mouth open to find there was a needle stuck sideways in the back of her throat. She was called Pinhead by my husband from that day forward.

Anyway, back to the little one. Her name is Knuckles and she has chosen my husband, the non-cat person, to be her human. My husband allows that little cat to do all sorts of things, like lie in his lap. She even gets a name….which isn’t Knuckles, but it isn’t That Black Cat or That Brown Cat.

Poor little Knuckles started vomiting and stopped eating. It had us very concerned so off to the veterinarian we went. After spending hundreds of dollars and a warning that she may have to have surgery, we brought her home and took very good care of her. (You know, we have a designated parking spot at the vet since we are such frequent flyers. Next will come the exam room with a plaque dedicated to our family.)

Knuckles’ appetite returned and boy did she eat, and eat, and eat….which, of course, came out the other end. Yesterday, as I was doing my daily poop scoop, there it was……..

a long piece of litter covered poop covering a red ribbon.

I was so excited I called the vet and left a message to tell the doctor that the poop was wrapped with a red ribbon!

Whew!

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to She Pooped a Red Ribbon

  1. mewhoami says:

    Haha! That’s hilarious. A poop covered ribbon, Christmas from a whole different perspective…literally.

  2. You got some coal wrapped in red ribbon, oh cats πŸ™‚

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Ahahaha. That was fantastic! Now you know that cat’s…habits. LOL

  4. So pleased that all ended well and gift wrapped to boot LOL.. πŸ™‚ Happy Christmas to you April

    love Sue ❀

  5. The first gift wrapped cat poop! πŸ™‚

  6. reocochran says:

    String, tinsel and ribbons are so dangerous, April. My brother’s fully grown golden retriever ate part of the burlap bag you get from the balled Christmas tree. πŸ™‚ Poor Hammie ended up in surgery where part of his intestines were removed. My sweet brother , sat in the surgical room “worried about his baby.” A cautionary tale. Merry Christmas, April.

  7. aviets says:

    That must have been quite a shock! I’m glad that @&$! cat is on the mend. ☺️

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    Could your little one be related to the one that’s now called Pinhead? My cats don’t eat anything but food, including mine — well, and their own fur (darn hairballs).

  9. April says:

    Hairballs are the worst. I also have a cat who likes plastic. I keep a close eye on making sure that all plastic is in the trash, but now I’ve learned another lesson. Well, I knew it all the time…each cat has different habits.

  10. Gallivanta says:

    Oh dear, oh dear, decorative poop. Hope Knuckles doesn’t take a fancy to your knitting. πŸ˜‰

  11. Bahahahahahahaha!!!!! I love cats. I DON’T love cleaning the litter box.

  12. Elouise says:

    Great story, April! We have one cat, but he feels like 10 cats sometimes, with 10 distinct personalities. I just got through romping through the house like a crazy woman chasing Smudge and finding his hiding places. He loves being freaked out and high on adrenaline. Go figure. He sleeps all day, then goes crazy in the evening. I love it, actually. Sometimes he deposits (from his mouth) strange items in the poop pan (feathers, paper clips, twist-ties, dead crickets), but we have yet to experience the red ribboned poop. And hope we never do. Without him, I think life could get a little dull.
    Elouise

  13. April says:

    I think this shows how much you love your cat and not your immaturity, nurses talk about poop a lot! Oh and moms as you are well aware. It is a prerequisite for the job! Must be okay with talking about poop before you can have kids πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      How true. My daughter just received her BSN RN and works in a skilled nursing facility. She laughs because during college she worked for the same type of facility – wiping butts. (That was during her desire to be a writer and was going for a Creative Writing degree) After graduating she walked dogs and went to school for her pre-requisites for nursing. She picked up poop. So…..now that I’ve made this a long story, she says her career has centered solely on poop.

Comments are closed.