A Day In The Life

First of all, I wanted to share my news. My CT scan came back all clear. I’m very happy but I find it hard to trust my doctors. But the results are there to see, and this next year I will be working on those trust issues.

Now the nonsense.

Since my husband accompanied me to my doctor visit, he decided to work from home. On the way home I asked him stop by Target because I’m looking for some twine to finish the tree garland I’m making. We are also looking for a little gag gift for our youngest, which can be found in the toy department.

While we were wandering through the aisles thinking how grateful we don’t have to shop for toys for a while, we heard a family on the other side of the aisle. They had about 5 kids under the age of 5. One of them was a little escape artist. If there weren’t any security cameras, and I was the type of person to scoop up a neglected child, I would have brought him home with us. Apparently his parents wouldn’t miss him. The other kids, except the infant, were running amok but closer to mom and dad.

We heard the father whistle for one kid (probably the runner), like he was whistling for a dog.

When the family was about to evacuate the toy department, they rounded up their kids, telling them they must be obedient. eye roll

We didn’t find what we were looking for at Target.

After a yummy dinner that Sensible Girlfriend brought to us, I asked my husband to brave that awful Walmart store. It’s only about 5 minutes away–Michaels, Joann’s, and Hobby Lobby are a good distance to pick up just one thing. We found the twine at Walmart.

Still looking for the gag gift, we braved the toy department. My apologies to Southerners, but some shopping at our local Walmart travel with their pack, or as I like to call it…their tribe. Yes, these are the People of Walmart we all fear. Add to that their accent and conversation topic of choice, it becomes quite the entertainment.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe all southerners follow tribe-like behaviors. My husband’s tribe travels via caravan and his tribe is from the west coast of the US.

Anyway, I’m am oh so grateful for that doctor who saved my life nearly 5 years ago. Even though I can’t quite completely shake the fear of hearing the c-word again, I’m learning how to enjoy a life a little more.

Oh! Did you know they make play-doh to look and smell like poop? I’m serious!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Day In The Life

  1. reocochran says:

    I think the play -doh sounds gross, yuck!
    The big news: Fantastic, April.
    When people see my son with their 5 kids I am sure since they are all cute and look like they “belong” together they assume he snd wife “mass produced.” 🙂 But I was a single mom of 3 when I married a single dad of 3 (they all “gave us away” at the wedding in 1993. They whistled or hummed the Brady Bunch song. Lol!)
    I always say my son “rescued” a single mom of 2 and had 3 with her= 5 kids! 🙂 Just a point of view on families so others may see my point. ♡ Happy news for you, your husband and kids! Celebrate! ♡

    • April says:

      I wanted to have 6 kids, but I started a little late in life. However, I know that my six may have been curious, but they would never be out of sight like this couple.But then, I shouldn’t judge.

      • reocochran says:

        No, I wasn’t directly saying your kids (or my grandies) would be constantly touching things or running around, April. If you had more than your family already has then all things would have fallen into place. ♡ I was just responding on your blog to remind people of the ‘other side of the coin.’ Meanwhile, there are plenty of parents with only one spoiled “rotten” child you see running around. Lol

        • April says:

          Oh, I have one rotten kid–he is about to turn 22.

          • reocochran says:

            You are just kidding because I remember awhile back your saying with pride that your kids did well despite what you may have done as their Mom. This was your essence and I feel the same about my 3 children. No sense in worrying about snything, now. April, I believe you showed bravery, fun moments and lots of other amazing things! 🙂

  2. aviets says:

    I’m so happy for you and your clear scan!! What a great way to celebrate Christmas! I can hear your joy in your writing.
    Of course I share your pain on being reduced to stepping into a Walmart. Serious punishment.

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    So happy for you, April. And I am with you in the trust issues with doctors. We just have to keep practicing!

  4. Yay for clean scans! And for surviving a trip to Walmart lol.

  5. mewhoami says:

    To smell like it too? Oh, that’s disgusting! But, a cool gag gift though. Just not one I’d want in my house. Just hearing about the scene at Target gets me upset. I can’t stand how parents let their kids behave these days. They are in public, not in a park. And as for southerners at Walmart; I’m pretty sure I have some family who fit that stereotype quite well. They are great for entertainment! AND most importantly – congrats on your scan!! That’s great news!

    • April says:

      Thanks! I’ve kind of giggled over the moms that tether their kids with a ‘leash’ type thing….that’s what I did—especially large events. Mostly, I left my kids at home with their dad if it was possible.

  6. The BEST news I’ve heard all week April! 🙂 Congratulations! 🙂

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Don’t think too badly about the father whistling for the kid. While I was growing up, there was a family across the street from my house where there were 4 kids and the 2 youngest were deaf. They could hear (kind of) if they had their hearing aids on. The mom wanted they to play with the kids in the neighborhood, and the rest of us liked them as friends. However, to get them home for dinner or whatever else, the mom would stand outside the door and give a high pitched whistle. The 2 kids could hear it and would scoot on home.

  8. joey says:

    No, I did NOT know that, and now I kinda wish I still didn’t. Ick.
    Congrats on your scan being clear! 😀

  9. So HAPPY to read this news April.. As I read your account of the large family it reminded me of when I was a child.. I was the eldest of 5… But we were all well behaved when out in public..
    We lived in a small village and would play out in adjacent fields especially in hay making times during summer..
    The only way my Mother could make us all hear us for the time to come in of a summer evening was to Whistle.. LOL… so your post brought that back.. 🙂 LOL..

    Hugs Sue xxx

    • April says:

      We lived across the street from a park with woods surrounding the park. My brother and his friends loved to play in the woods. My mom would whistle for him, and he would whistle back letting her know he was okay. Two whistles were to come home for lunch or dinner.

Comments are closed.