The Day After

As my husband munches on a bowl of Cheerios, I find food kind of repulsive. He’s actually going to do some Black Friday shopping at The Home Depot. Brave man….I haven’t shopped Black Friday since my one and only rookie experience I call the Furby Debacle. Let’s just say my sister and I proved our rookiness and gullibility within the first minute of entering the store.

In fact, I’m one of those annoying people who have already completed my Christmas shopping. I bought sales with people in mind. All I have to do is finish my ornaments and decorate the tree. I’m afraid my expectations were a bit high so we will be using some handmade ornaments along with the ornaments we already have. Before you do any eye rolling, this is an anomaly for me.

Yesterday was full of beautiful things—-once the vampires woke up and came over. In fact, we had to keep some stuff warming for a while. The real reason we were delayed was that our oldest son was making a casserole and it took him longer than he expected.

The day was full of football and eating. Thankfully I love football, however only one game was worth watching. The others were quite the snoozers.

At the end of the evening we played a new board game that our oldest brought. Our daughter hooked up with Google Chat and we had her at the table with us. It was the next best thing to having her here. She was the head of the table. The game we played? I finally figured out the rules after our youngest won the game. Let’s just say that easy math, strategy, and keeping track of what other players are doing are not skills I can boast.

The best thing? Our oldest spent the night. We actually saw midnight, which hasn’t happened for a very long time—well, for my husband. As a former sufferer of insomnia, every hour of the day was an experience. (Yes insomniacs, you can overcome without medication–it takes practice and patience with yourself, along with good sleep hygiene)

I hope my American friends had a wonderful Thanksgiving and have some great recipes for your leftovers. For you Black Friday shoppers…..good luck!

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Day After

  1. aviets says:

    Sounds like an excellent day! What’s the new game? Sounds like one I would be really bad at, but I’m still curious.

    • April says:

      It’s called Machi Koro. We had more fun trying to pronounce the name of the game than most would. The game was in English but to me it could have been Japanese.

  2. Glynis Jolly says:

    I can almost heard how happy your Thanksgiving was.

  3. Elouise says:

    What a wonderful day with your family and food!

  4. reocochran says:

    April, your family together thanks to Google Chat sounds fantastic. One good football game sounds like par for the course. 🙂
    So glad you had a happy Thanksgiving. Mom and I had a lazy 2 days afterwards. We put up decorations on Mom’s door and shelf, I gave her a funny elf last year and a puppy this year that wriggles and jiggles to Jingle Bells. We had lots of cake and pie, with occasional leftover real food, too.
    The baby and his sisters were the highlight of the Thanksgiving day. My son was so glad he brought his family up and my youngest daughter took a sleeping beauty photo of two slerpy girls. 🙂 Lots of adorable ♡ photographs taken.

    • April says:

      Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. We certainly have a lot of leftovers, I should have sent more home with my sons….especially the pumpkin pie.

  5. A good day for all April. I didn’t try to do any BF shopping. I value my time too much to spend it standing in lines. 😉

  6. The furby debacle! Gah. I remember when those suckers came out. People went crazy and trampled over children for them. It was nuts. Glad your holiday was nice 🙂

  7. mewhoami says:

    Sounds like you all had a wonderful day and I’m so happy that your daughter was able to ‘join’ you. I’m with you on the food being repulsive statement. How or why would anyone want to eat again the following morning? Oh no…even days later that idea still makes me shiver. But, I did find a delicious new recipe for the leftover turkey. http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/one-pot-cheesy-turkey-tamale-pie/

Comments are closed.