My Cat Thinks She’s a Dog With a Tapeworm

We have a little black cat that is so sweet, but as she has aged her personality has gone from sweet little thing to an evil little thing.

The other cats give her a wide berth. If they get too close, she snaps her paw with the skill of a praying mantis. One look from her is enough to let the others know when they are approaching her personal universe.

She has recently been diagnosed with kidney disease and is on a special diet.Β I have now become her minion and she expects to be fed at will. She follows me around like a little dog. I feed her, she eats a tiny bit then walks away. Β The reason I continuously feed her is because I’m trying to keep her weight at a healthy level…she was getting far too thin. If she is not fed, she sits at my feet and gives me the stink eye. A serious stink eye.

I’ll bet you’re asking “why not leave the bowl down”….well, I have another cat on a special diet that is not the same diet, and we have a relatively normal cat who has no medical issues so she is on another diet. We also have one big dog who acts as if cat food is crack.

You may also be asking, “why don’t I just put her in another room, away from all the others so that she can eat and go on with her day”. Because, well, she is part of the family. As much as I would like to be shut up in my room all day, I’m pretty sure I would hear a bunch of pitiful cries to be released from the room. I think that would bother me more than having a catdog.

Why do I write about this? Because that little black cat is making me crazy with her constant demands of my attention. Aren’t cats supposed to sleep all day? Since when does a cat follow their human everywhere they go? Why can’t she eat like the others and go to sleep all day?

….sigh I love her, and I will continue to be her frustrated minion.

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Cat Thinks She’s a Dog With a Tapeworm

  1. reocochran says:

    My friend, Jenny’s cat has become “persnickety” and mouthy. She asks piteously for food 4x daily! πŸ™‚ Your cat sounds posessed, April. Just teasing. . .

    • April says:

      She is. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tripped over her.

      • reocochran says:

        I like how you still declare you love her and will be her frustrated minion. Are we going to put an Indian headdress on poor dog today? πŸ™‚ Hope you have a happy day. Mom’s nurse will be in shortly to unlock her med chest on yop of fridge, so am up “bright and early. πŸ˜‰

  2. aviets says:

    Hahahaha, she’s worse than an infant! But it’s kind of nice to have someone who depends on you. πŸ™‚

  3. mewhoami says:

    It sounds like you’ve got your hands full. I don’t even know how you keep all that straight. Good cat mom you are though.

  4. She sounds like my kids when they were kids……

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’m a cat person, so is my husband and my mother-in-law. All of my cats are healthy so far. I don’t know what I’d do if one was like your black cat. My mother-in-law’s 2 cats are healthy too, although one of them has latched on to her so much that the little thing interrupts her sleep wanting to snuggle and get warm fuzzys. What we do for our pets is outlandish, yet we can’t seem to help ourselves. πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      They are so much less needy when they are young but like humans some need more care as they get older. This one is 16, and I’m hoping the diet and the subcutaneous fluids will keep her going for quite some time.

  6. Elouise says:

    You’re so good to her! Maybe she doesn’t know how lucky she is. πŸ™‚
    Elouise

Comments are closed.