DIY With Your Spouse – That Stinkin’ Window Again

You know when your car has a noise and you take it to the mechanic and the noise stops?

Or….maybe your spouse’s sniffer no longer works as it should?

Somewhere I blogged about our front window that we called several repairmen to fix because we had some wood rot and we weren’t sure if it was a DIY for us. Of course, as always, the people we find end up being flakes or do a half-assed job. In this instance we had too many no-shows and a guy who wanted to replace the entire window, which we had just enough knowledge to know that wasn’t necessary. After all, it was only the trim that was rotting. So we fixed the window ourselves….we simply had to find out where to purchase the wood trim, because the local Home Depots don’t carry the specific size we needed.

Recently, I kept getting a whiff of something every time I went into that room where the window we repaired was located. I asked my husband if he smelled it and he didn’t know what I was talking about. When the Wee One came over I put his sniffer to work and he smelled it too! I wasn’t imagining it. However, we couldn’t pinpoint the exact location of the smell…..just the general area.

I went on a sniffing expedition moving things out of my way with trepidation. I thought maybe one of our cats may have brought something in…..like a lizard and I would discover a rotting carcass. Maybe something died in our wall. After all, we did have a squirrel in the attic at some point.

The source? The window we repaired.

We tore down some of the drywall, because we are experts in demolition, but didn’t see anything but the framing. No mold on the drywall. Notice I said we…..I didn’t tear a hole in the wall after my husband went to work.

My husband found a small hole he missed when sealing around the window and maybe water was getting in between the trim and the framing when it rained. Anyway, we will be checking to make sure we didn’t create a science project behind our DIY window trim repair. Maybe my husband doesn’t know yet, but he will after reading this.

However, now that the drywall is gone, the smell mysteriously went with it. Maybe the small unsealed area was all it was and it was just wet wood I was smelling. I want to make sure before we repair the drywall because I don’t want the smell coming back.

Our next DIY project? The deck. We have differing opinions about how it was constructed and what we need to do to make it right so that we can get the most money for our home when we decide to put it on the market.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in DIY Projects With Your Spouse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to DIY With Your Spouse – That Stinkin’ Window Again

  1. aviets says:

    Wow. Once a again you mastered a project I would never dream of tackling. Well done! No more smell!

  2. mewhoami says:

    Glad you got the smell out. I’ve experiences mold and the terrible smell and the awful spreading of it. It’s certainly not something to be played around with. Can’t wait to see pictures of your deck, if you decide to post them. Beautiful decks are a great addition to a house’s appeal.

  3. Hhhmmmmm, maybe this could be what WE need to look for….,

  4. If you do find mold go buy some Mold Armor brand house wash and spray it on the effected areas, it’ll take care of it.

  5. suzjones says:

    You’re too clever by half my dear. πŸ™‚

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Hooray for good sniffing! I have had a handyman here the last two days doing lots of little jobs. It’s brilliant to finally get so many things done; to finally have someone sensible, who doesn’t charge the earth.

    • April says:

      We would just like to have hire a person who can complete the job when they say and not 2 months later. My husband is pretty handy and I’m not afraid to try something. It is nice getting the things completed.

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Dear April, I hate to be the one to point this out but… maybe you should have replaced the entire window and frame. Some things, although may look minimal, need a professional to handle. As for professionals who are marginal… have you tried HomeAdvisor? (http://www.homeadvisor.com/) We’ve tried the service — not too shabby.

    • April says:

      The wood rot was only the outside trim at the bottom where it wasn’t sealed well to start with, and it wicked up water. It didn’t even come close to damaging the frame or the window casing. It was a basic trim job with non-standard trim sizes we couldn’t just pick up at the Home Depot. Unless we see something big under the trim piece that looks like the frame is compromised, we will definitely look for a pro. Decorative trim that has been damaged doesn’t equal replacing the entire window and framing, which is what the one guy wanted to do. Believe me, we may try some things that maybe others won’t, but we do know when to call the professionals. Yes, we have used home advisor, angies list, and another local booklet of contractors. We have been taken advantage of one too many times.

Comments are closed.