Sunday with April

I’m having a bit of a conundrum with my yarn stash. I have TONS…okay, I’ll show you so that you can appreciate what I’m talking about…6K2A0043

Bad picture but it shows most of what I have stashed in a closet…some are works in progress, some of it I have definite plans for (like the lime green) but most is I-don’t-know-what-I’m-going-to-do-with-it-yarn. Ah, the life of a knitter. (and yes, I have looked into free-cycling as well as other charities) I could get together with another knitter and tempt them with my free stash but that would be just evil.

Anyway, I don’t have enough yarn in one color to make much except hats or scarves. So, I could make a million hats and scarves and hope that someone would enjoy the old scratchy version of acrylic yarn (it’s changed over the years, and the stuff I have is o l d). However, I happened upon the charity, Project Linus. They take donations of homemade blankets to give to children in hospitals.

So, I think I’ve decided to give another go at a patchwork kind of blanket/afghan/throw. I’m sure to add hats to my knitting and find a charity to donate those as well. Not sure many homeless Georgians would want to haul around a hat and scarf for the couple of times a year it gets cold enoughΒ to actually use them,Β but who knows.

The following made me smile this week:

  • the sun shining on my face
  • finding a bag of Skittles in an unexpected place—a bad memory sure comes in handy
  • sleeping with the windows open and turning off the air conditioning
  • band-aids
  • you know the tags that are placed on sunglasses and readers? The tags right at the bridge of the nose that get in the way when trying them on to see what they look like? Most of us have been there. I saw a lady trying on a pair of readers and testing them…..with the rather large tag flipped up to rest on her forehead.

I hope you find something to smile about today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sunday with April

  1. cicorm says:

    “the sun shining on my face”, this i like! πŸ™‚

  2. aviets says:

    I have a friend who quilts for project Linus, but I didn’t know they took things besides quilts. You definitely beat me in the leftover yarn category, but I’ve been in a quandary about what to do about my leftovers, too. I’m thinking of following your example and making some blankets for our local group. Maybe I’ll refresh my granny square skills (I’ve totally forgotten how to do them after taking a year off)…

    • April says:

      Yes, they take all sorts of blankets of different sizes. Luckily, we have a local chapter that I don’t have to drive to the city to drop off my creations. Maybe I should practice my crochet because I think making granny squares would be much easier than piecing together knitted squares.

      • aviets says:

        I agree. I’ve been considering a knitted blanket, but it just seems too daunting. The thing I like about granny squares is that you can finish one pretty quickly and have a lovely sense of accomplishment.

        • April says:

          That’s why I like knitting socks. Almost instant gratification–well a pair takes a couple of days but I see a finished product much sooner. I have a sweater I knitted and haven’t finished. When I started knitting it I was one size…I’m a little too large for the sweater now.

      • aviets says:

        Oh yay! I just checked the website for our local chapter and they accept donations in our historic downtown area – I’m there pretty much every Saturday, so donating will be a breeze!

  3. reocochran says:

    Okay, April. I am very happy you did figure put a few different ways to handle your yarn collection! πŸ™‚
    My oldest daughter has been “purging” art and clothes upon Goodwill. She asks me first since the favorite Bobbie Brooks short orange corduroy miniskirt (era 1971) has to stay in my memorabilia.
    I absolutely love “found” candy like Skittles that don’t melt or gum. I chew gum instead of brushing after coffee on work breaks and after lunch. I average 4 pieces a day. When I found a pack of a Trident Layers u felt I had discovered the ‘mother lode.’
    Children are always a source of amusement while over packed pharmacy bags would bring me to the irritating tone I use at the grocery store where they do this. I use a question, “Do you want me to break this bag while I carry it into my apt building?” I mean we hope store clerks can see things from the other person’s point of view.
    I don’t feel guilty reversing the situation either: “Would you want to carry all these cans in one bag?” Your sunshine shared lifted my spirits and helped me to remember to clean out one drawer this week. Baby steps… πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      I’m working on baby step purging, otherwise I stop because I’m too overwhelmed.

    • joey says:

      Ooh, Robin, the cans! The cans! All in one bag? I’m quite capable of carrying 2/3 of my weight, but not in some flimsy plastic bag! Sassy carried in a bag the other day, the bottom ripped open, and the syrup fell down and shattered on the tile! Four thousand paper towels, a hundred doggy licks, and a mop later, I stopped cursing the bagger, lol!
      I prefer Aldi so I can always use my cloth bags, but then, the plastic from other stores is nice for cat box cleaning.
      But oh RAWR!

  4. meANXIETYme says:

    HA! Just went to the craft store yesterday (twice! two different stores) to find yarn for a gift and ended up buying pretty much all kinds of yarn but what I went looking for (they didn’t have it). Now I have three bags of yarn (one from a previous trip) stacked up and waiting to be crocheted with. But I DO do hats for our local cancer group…varying the yarn by season. Then again, we get ALL the seasons here, so there’s always a need for every kind of yarn.
    And, um, my yarn stash isn’t QUITE as big as yours, but I do admit to having a big tub of yarn that I bought in bulk about eight years ago with the intention of making a blanket on a knitting board…and then I bought another type of yarn for the same reason (in semi-bulk) in another tub. Neither blanket is finished and the yarn sits in the tubs in a closet. Hmm, maybe my stash IS as big as yours! LOL
    Granny squares are quick and easy, it’s the putting together into a blanket that’s a pain in the rear.

  5. Anonymous says:

    always love reading “Sunday with April” maybe that could be the name of your book your going to write..xoxoxo

  6. The fact that you can take all of that yarn and MAKE stuff makes ME smile April!

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    Even before I got to the place in your post where you mention it, the idea of a funky-looking ‘patchwork kind of blanket/afghan/throw’ was a marvelous idea spinning in my head. During the cooler months (notice I didn’t say cold because The South never really is cold), wrapping up in it to watch the football games and old movies sounds delightful to me. πŸ˜€

  8. joey says:

    I vote for a crazy patchwork blanket as well.
    I also vote you throw away the old acrylic, because I think I’m getting hives just from reading about it!
    Homeless shelters and nursing homes always need blankets.

    • April says:

      Knitting with the acrylic is awful on the fingers. Way too rough, but when washed it does become soft….unless it’s the real old crap.

      • joey says:

        I’m allergic, so even when it’s soft, I rash. ^_^ That’s me, though. I miss out on a lot of cute, soft sweaters!
        My mother crochets for me — bamboo & organic cotton. Last winter, our hats were a blend, and I was pleased to find them comfortable and not rash-y πŸ˜€

  9. Elouise says:

    Today’s smile: seeing our cat asleep on the water bed (heated) because we just had a little cool snap last night! I wanted to be right there beside him, all curled up and cozy.
    Elouise

  10. Gallivanta says:

    Now that is some stash! Project Linus looks like a great way to use up some of the yarn.

  11. Cathy Bohlae says:

    That is what I do with the extra yarn…..I have to admit I drooled just a little seeing all that yarn. I crochet blankets for a place called Caring for kids…..chemo wards could use your hats probably. I use all my yarn….crochet blankets or blankies then make boxes out of the left overs of that yarn, blocks out of the strands left from that and then the part I cut off of that yarn I save and use it to stuff pillows. When people ask for spare yarn from me I let them know I am happy to share but there is no spare then show them my bags of balls for them to choose…..
    You got this April and enjoy yourself…….love and hugs as always

Comments are closed.