Sunday with April

About half way through the week I wanted to give in. The whiny voice in my head kept repeating a bunch of “I can’t do this”, “this is too hard”, “how will I ever be caught ups”.

I seem to come up with brilliant ideas in the bathroom. On the toilet, in the shower, brushing my teeth….it’s like a switch…so I’ve decided to set up a bed in the bathtub we’ve only used one time. Nah, I like my bed and my perch on the couch too much. Anyway, while in the bathroom I decided to not give in to my tears. It was just like the squat I did and thought I couldn’t get back up using my legs, and not having to do the roll to my hands to push myself up. I pushed through and stood up using my legs—telling myself I could do it, I just have to try a little harder until I get in shape.

Due to hanging onto the bad habit of negative self talk, it was hard to conjure up some things that made me smile this week because my mind was otherwise occupied. But here they are as a reminder to myself that it is possible to find something good each day if paying attention:

  • my favorite NFL team won their last preseason game and I’m now looking forward to regular season play
  • all the ‘brilliant idea’ spots in our house are really clean
  • I set my goals for the week and I met each and every one of them
  • when I went to the pharmacy to pick up my drugs, they came in a stuffed-to-the-top, lunch size sack bag
  • a little girl crying in line at the pharmacy counter because her mom made her stay near her. Usually I come unglued when kids cry in the store, but this time the little thing made me smile. Maybe it was an evil smile because I no longer have to tolerate that kind of behavior from my own kids
  • a little bunny in our yard
  • my husband letting the word jalapeno roll off his tongue over and over. The way it’s meant to be pronounced, and the way he pronounces it….phonetically for y’all to understand his version, hal-a-pee-no. But what do I know, I can’t even type the word without the little ~ above the ‘n’ because I don’t know how to make that happen on a keyboard.
  • our 26-year-old son claiming that all the good birthdays have passed, he doesn’t have to have balloons and streamers anymore……..which is good because I didn’t hang any this year when he came over to celebrate with us

I hope you find something to make you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday with April

  1. aviets says:

    I’m really sorry you had a rough week. Hoping for a ray of sunshine to permanently settle on you. πŸ™‚ And that good ideas will appear no matter where you find yourself…for me it’s always in the middle of the night, in bed. When there’s pretty much nothing I can do about those good ideas.

    • April says:

      My rough week was created by not believing in myself. I’m correcting that. We all have bad days and mine don’t have to destroy me.

  2. It’s good to see you push through and refuse to succumb to the negativity. You acknowledge honestly that the struggle is ongoing but choose to keep fighting it, the small victories will keep adding up.

    • April says:

      I think I’m close to stop believing that everything has to be perfect. Life is messy at times and I can make it through all the setbacks. There are also a lot of good things happening.

  3. reocochran says:

    Sorry, April. My blogging has been a hit or miss but I am sitting with Mom and grateful watching black and white TCM movies. We finished “Bringing up Baby” which made me cry.
    I like your honesty in smiling at Mommy stuck with whiny child. Sort of like me, when new grandson cries. Hand him back to DIL. πŸ™‚

  4. carol garner says:

    your “sunday with April” make me smile…have a GREAT week..xoxoxoxo

  5. I so appreciate your realness April. Even though you had a bad week, or rough week, you still had a week full of things to smile about. You may have struggled to recognize them, but I suspect after re-reading them it may have lifted you even a little bit. Way to speak up for you!!! to you…. πŸ˜‰

  6. It is always nice to read your posts April and even more nice, when I can so your progressy in your life. You have the choices to focus at the good or at the bad and I just love, that you let the good win πŸ˜€

  7. Glynis Jolly says:

    I’ve always thought it’s all right to cry as long as it doesn’t go on for hours. Sometimes I just need an emotional dump — presto, tears. Do you ever feel this way? Is that what was going on with you on Sunday? (Late again, it’s Wednesday.) Remember, life is not always happy. To expect it to be, or to think you should always be happy is totally insane.

  8. mewhoami says:

    I’m sorry that you had a rough week, but happy that were able to find some good times in the midst of it. Hoping this week will be better!

Comments are closed.