Graduation

I’m proud to say that I have graduated to a monthly visit to my therapist along with every three months to the psychologist. I’m even tapering off some of my cocktail of drugs ever so slowly.

Progress!!!

I’m not saying life is perfect and I’m frolicking through a field of wildflowers, but I have a life in spite of clinical depression and generalized anxiety disorder.

Each and every one of us have unique paths to follow in life and I stumbled on my path. Now I have hope and am learning my worth. I may not be there yet but I recognize how far I’ve come and that is what I’m choosing to focus on.

still don’t believe in the saying that happiness is a choice because some of us are robbed of happiness that’s beyond what we can control without professional help and perseverance.

To anybody struggling…

You are worth it, don’t give up on yourself.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Graduation

  1. aviets says:

    Great news! I’m happy for you that you’re making such progress.
    You and I are on the same page with that “happiness is a choice” business. It’s not true and it’s just plain hurtful for way too many people.

    • April says:

      Seriously. When I couldn’t seem to get to a happy place simply by choice, it made me feel as if I was more of a failure. For the most part, we can choose where we place our focus and for me it took a combination of help. Everyone is different, but we are all worth it.

  2. meANXIETYme says:

    Yay! Congrats, April, I’m really happy for you. Onward and upward, with kindness and compassion for yourself as you move forward!

  3. joey says:

    Hooray! You ARE worth it 😀

  4. ecteedoff says:

    I’m so happy to here this! Reading your blog through the months you have worked hard for this and have earned it! Keep doing what you’re doing!

  5. You are doing so very well April, just go on.
    Happiness is a choice, but a very difficult one, while you have the clinical depression, I do remember that.

  6. Elouise says:

    Happiness? I think happy doesn’t exist apart from pain and suffering. Our choices matter, but everything isn’t equally possible in all times of our lives. I think you’re doing great! Enjoy the happiness that comes to you today. That’s what I would say about happiness. It isn’t like water–turn the spigot and it gushes out…. Even though we may be skilled at making it seem that way. Which is what got us into some of the mess we’re in right now? Nothing is simple (my motto)!
    Elouise

  7. I loved reading this and I’m truly happy for you! And I’m with you on ‘happiness is a choice.’ Maybe true for some but I know plenty (self included) who would love for that to be true but it’s just not and it’s a hard line to hear. Wishing you continued healing.

    • April says:

      It is a hard thing to hear but I understand how some people who haven’t experienced depression — or even grief can’t see how changing our thoughts isn’t the complete solution.

  8. Don says:

    Wonderful to hear April. You are an extremely courageous and inspiring woman in your own beautiful and vulnerable way. I celebrate how you’re feeling at this moment and agree with you, happiness is not simply a choice. That mantra is not true for so many and it can be said so glibly.

  9. mewhoami says:

    Congratulations on the steps you’ve made! That’s great!

  10. THIS is something to smile about. 🙂

  11. The last line had so much power 🙂 April you are on the right track for sure 🙂

  12. Glynis Jolly says:

    Congratulations, April! Moving to monthly is a big step. 😀 What are you going to do with that time? It isn’t just the 45 minute or hour sessions. It’s the time you spend going and coming back from them too.

    Happiness is not a choice in my opinion too. Nevertheless, when you are dealt lemons, you can try making lemonade.

    • April says:

      I kind of like the travel back and forth. It gives me time to think. What am I going to do with my time? Hmmm….I have a ton of projects I have been putting off. 🙂

Comments are closed.