Letting Go–Just Do It (sorry Nike had to borrow your slogan)

Sometimes we simply have to do things.

Do them, not just think about them.

Anticipating or obsessing about a dreaded event is always worse than the event itself.

*******

Sometimes we simply have to let go.

Know when to let go before it becomes messy.

Know when to fight and when it is worthy of the fight.

*******

Sometimes we have to let go and do it.

*******

You may never read this but I shall miss you, my friend.

I’m letting go…..may you always realize the dreams you deserve, and receive love in return of the love you so freely give.

Friends come and go throughout our lives and a longtime friendship is hard to let go of.

But, I’m just doing it.

For your sake.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Letting Go–Just Do It (sorry Nike had to borrow your slogan)

  1. meANXIETYme says:

    This struck me very much, because I had a similar issue about 8 or 9 years ago. A very VERY good friend, and I had to let her go. I think of her often, and since my mother’s cancer diagnosis (and the mine), I’ve often considered sending her an email just to say how much I love her no matter what our situation… But I haven’t done it. I almost feel like interrupting her life would do a disservice after the decision to let her go originally. HUGS to you as you not only make this decision, but learn how to live AFTER the decision.

    • April says:

      I tried, they simply gave up on me.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        I realized that potentially my friend would have a better life without me, as sad as that sounds. Although my husband and I were very supportive of her (as she was of us), I think the stress of her life was too much to continuing being a part of ours anymore. Like she just had too much to deal with to keep up another relationship.
        I hated letting her go. I think of her so often, but I know she has issues she has to live with, and if living more simply allows her to live better, I wanted to do that for her.
        But I still miss her. I miss her being a part of our lives, and I miss being part of hers. It’s painful and I rarely talk about it out loud…but it’s on my mind a lot.
        I hate that us being in her life added more stress to hers–that was hard to accept because we felt like we were really good friends to her–but we gave her the opportunity to step away from our relationship and she did. And we accepted that.
        We didn’t like it and never will, but we’ve accepted it. 😦
        HUGS

        • April says:

          It’s so tough when decisions are sometimes made for us by the actions of others.

          Because of my lifelong emotional roller coaster, I am amazed I even have friends. This particular relationship has been more bad than good. Even though I feel as if I have made great strides in ‘getting my life together’, it’s just not enough for some people and I felt it best to let them move on.

  2. Cathy Bohlae says:

    You okay April? This sounds like heavy stuff and I don’t want to pry….but making sure you are as good as you can be and this isn’t hurting you much! hugs to you my friend

    • April says:

      I’m fine. This has been a long time coming and I almost feel relieved. I can’t continue to ‘prove’ that I’m a different person than I was …. even four years ago. I have finally grown up and I suppose I don’t need the relationship any more. No hurt feelings for me. I’m moving upward and onward.

  3. Elouise says:

    Good for you! It’s so difficult–especially when it’s someone we really like. But when the time comes to just let it go, it’s time. Time for us to move on with our lives. Best wishes, April!
    Elouise

    • April says:

      It kind of feels good to let go of that ‘burden’. I can only do so much on my side, it takes acceptance by both parties.

  4. Jay says:

    Some people are only meant to be in our lives for a while, and it’s okay to move on. If you’re being made to feel that way, then maybe this isn’t much of a friendship anymore.

  5. I’m sorry this is happening April. But it sounds like you need to move on and you’re ready. I’m glad you’re doing okay! πŸ™‚

  6. reocochran says:

    I let go of a friend when I was facing upheaval, divorce and loss of a career, April. Her problems had always from junior high school been mine. I had helped her clean and muck out weeds as high as I am tall, listened so often I would set my phone down and come back and she was still on one pain or problem at a time. Her list was endless and I needed her to listen. She could not. It has come back through my kids, she will cry in stores. They understand, in theory, but when I moved 30 minutes from her home in central Ohio she moved to my chosen town. Now, her son works where I do and I hug him and talk to him but he is marrying next year, 2016. He wants my oldest daughter to take the wedding pictures like she did almost 11 years ago. I will be on the guest list. What a predicament! As soon as I participate, she will think we are friends again. You are my first person I have as.itted to, I may not go to his wedding, April. Any suggestions? xo β™‘

    • April says:

      Oh…I think it’s only easy for me to let go because we moved across the states. When someone is dragging you down with their problems, you have to protect yourself. It’s one thing to ask a friend for advice, but it is necessary to listen as well. The people who are all about me are kind of toxic. I wouldn’t go to the wedding unless I felt I wanted to, not obligated. Do what feels right.

      • reocochran says:

        Thank you, April for validating my feelings. There was joy in my hearing her son tell me about his sister and her husband. Then there was a sense of foreboding and dread in the upcoming wedding. Not really sure but I may make plans and tell him I will send a gift card and prayers his way.

  7. mewhoami says:

    Those can be some of the most difficult times in life, but sometimes it has to be that way. I’m sorry that you’re having to go through this. No matter what the circumstances are, it’s never easy.

    • April says:

      I think I went through the loss a while ago. I’m just letting go of the remnants. I feel as if a load has lifted from my shoulders and heart.

Comments are closed.