A Family Vacation

Some of my favorite blog posts contain photos of areas around the world. I may never travel to a foreign country because of my phobia that I’m truly striving to conquer—flying in a tin tube. I don’t think I could breathe deeply enough or grab onto the armrests hard enough to do that over a vast ocean.

Anyway, I did travel by plane to another state, and I can say that I’m getting better with the dread of flying ….all the people traveling, moving here-and-there in the airports are a different story. Crowds….ugh….another trigger for me.

I thought I would share a few of the photos I took while visiting the state of Montana. We stayed among the hoard of people, and I wished I didn’t have a fear of hiking the back country. I love furry things, but the word grizzly isn’t included in the description. Oh! Moose is also another animal I don’t want to tangle with. Or, big cats–as much as I love them.

So, here are my photos of Yellowstone National Park…..hastily taken and not very much post processing. (I believe my camera settings were off the entire time we were gone)

The Gallatin River. This is the river the movie, A River Runs Through It, based on the novella written by Norman Maclean, was filmed.

6K2A9791

 

My look of accomplishment after the tumble I took when I realized I could have been standing in the spot a young, yummy looking Brad Pitt stood (he has gotten a little too scruffy for me these days)

……and that’s the story behind my fall, I’m sticking to it.

6K2A9776

We did not go to the ever-so-popular Old Faithful Geyser because – well – it’s surrounded by a gaggle of tourists. We stopped at an area named Fountain Paint Pots. I tried to capture the bubbling mud, but wasn’t successful – they weren’t very photogenic. This geyser was named Spasm Geyser. The smell of sulfur was very strong in this area. We walked through steam being released through vents in the earth.

6K2A9876

Stuck in traffic – nothing to photograph except the side of the hill.

6K2A9906

Mammoth Hot Springs. Again, we didn’t go to the top because of the gaggle of tourists. I would love to go to the park when it isn’t so busy but I don’t imagine that happens often.

6K2A9909

Elk in the middle of the visitor’s area at Mammoth Hot Springs. They didn’t seem to mind the onlookers.

6K2A9916

I hope you enjoyed some of Yellowstone. I wish we could have stayed in the park for days.

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Family Vacation

  1. Thank you for sharing, Yellowstone is on my “to visit” list but it hasn’t been crossed off yet. I suppose you’re right, Yellowstone is probably never not busy and although I may not struggle with crowds I certainly don’t like them at all. Wouldn’t it be nice to see Yellowstone how it was 150 years ago, no people, just nature?

  2. I enjoyed so very much to see a spot from Yellowstone April. Thank you so very much for sharing this beautiful post 😀

  3. Gallivanta says:

    I don’t do crowds either. 😦 So thanks for giving us a peek of Yellowstone.

  4. Like you, I love the pictures others share from where they are. How gorgeous this place is!

  5. reocochran says:

    Gorgeous photos and your comments had me smiling a big broad grin! I am so happy looking at Western photos, someday this may crack you up, my dream is to ride with a bunch of elderly tourists on a Coach bus, heading West. It used to be on a train with my 2 Grandsons, but out of fairness to the now 5 other grandkids I will make It alone with strangers. 🙂

  6. reocochran says:

    The Spasm Geyser was my favorite and how you described it as steam being released from the Earth. It was lovely in so many ways, April.

    • April says:

      It’s kind of odd walking through the diverse landscape. There is so much beauty if the tourists could simply disappear.

  7. reocochran says:

    The Spasm Geyser was my favorite and how you described it as steam being released from the Earth. It was lovely in so many ways, April.

Comments are closed.