Sunday gratitude with April #5

The following made me smile this week:

  • an orange car that looked like a transformer toy. Two wheels in front and one in back, no roof.

  • I was asked how my 21-day sugar detox was progressing–it stalled with the blackberry pie

  • blossoms on the crepe myrtles

  • the smell of popcorn

  • an indulgent afternoon nap

  • the fact that I used to dream of having more hours in a day when my kids were growing up, now that they are, my dream is coming true—not because my kids aren’t around, but due to my memory wires stuck on sleep deprivation mode

  • sitting on the deck as the sun comes up, listening to the owls

  • the summer sound of cicadas

  • another setback on our shower–the hinge for the door was defective so we have to wait for the installers to order a new piece and finish the enclosure. At this point we can only smile and move on.

I hope you find something that makes you smile.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Grattitude, Sunday's Smiles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Sunday gratitude with April #5

  1. babysteps22 says:

    Blackberry pie,mmmmm…I watched Shrek for the billionth time with my relatives kids and after a while I realised I found that movie more romantic than most Nicholas Sparks books. :$ Also, I’m stuck with one of the songs from it’s soundtrack – ‘Accidentally in Love’ and I can’t stop humming it. Especially during viva when I’m supposed to be thinking about the answer to the question posed, all my brain can do is scream ‘I’M IN LOVE! I’M IN LOVE! I’M IN LOVE! I’M IN LOVE’ which made me smile because it’s so ridiculous that I’m NOT even in love but my brain is so happy to contradict it for me because of a song!!

  2. It is so very nice to see, how positive you try to look at your life April. You are really doing so good πŸ˜€

  3. aviets says:

    Total bummer about the shower door. So many pitfalls…I would LOVE to see a photo of the crepe myrtle blossoming. I’ve never seen it!

  4. Love this! Your post made me smile.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Crepe myrtle blossom would make me smile.

  6. Sugar detox stall…. πŸ™‚ I’ve experienced that every time I start to think about sugar detox…. I stall in the thought of it. πŸ˜‰

    • April says:

      I’m seriously having a problem obsessing over what I can’t have. I just have to restrain myself from buying it at the store…..then my husband brings the contraband in. πŸ˜€

  7. reocochran says:

    Orange cars, especially ones which look like transformers, pretty flowering blossoms, blackberry pies, projects completed successfully and popcorn popping aroma always makes me smile, April!! Lovely list of Sunday happy thoughts, I was on the road with my oldest daughter to drop off boys to their grandparents in Dayton, my ex and his wife. We ended up (2 of us) on way back alone at Chili’s restaurant and I have half a steak, loaded baked potato and some broccoli waiting when I leave the library to eat dinner.
    My ‘down’ side of weekend, I lost my purse due to not locking my car while running into my oldest daughter’s apt to get a leftover casserole ‘hand out’ on Friday. Came back, no purse, cell phone nor glasses. Second time this year, counting the library thief. Yikes! But still no accident nor hurt persons. Not a big expense, just new purse, Driver’s License, cancelling credit cards and loss of two gift cards. Oh well, I know it ‘could be worse!’ πŸ™‚

    • April says:

      I thought I responded to this comment but must not have ‘posted’ it. You’re having some bad luck with your purse, Robin. Happy to hear you weren’t hurt other than having to deal with the problem with redoing what you recently went through.

      • reocochran says:

        Thanks for the sympathy and no lecture, April! I have had a few people say to be more careful, which I will be, from now on! No worries about posting comments since I come through in bursts and then, there are small gaps, too. Thanks for sticking with me, anyway! xo

  8. mewhoami says:

    Sugar detox, eh? Nice! I’ve heard it can do wonders for the body and mind. Maybe one day I’ll give it a shot too. I love the thought of sitting on a deck at sunrise, listening to the wildlife. So relaxing that would be.

    • April says:

      I have read that cutting out sugar can do wonders for the mind. I have cut way down, just not following the detox ‘rules’ completely. πŸ™‚ Yes, you should sit outside in the early morning, it’s great for the soul!

  9. carol garner says:

    sitting on the deck watching the sun would make me smile too. xoxo

Comments are closed.