Sunday with April #3

Let’s see….the following made me smile this week:

  • I have discovered I’m not quite the electrician I thought I was. I tried to switch out a thermostat to a programmable one at our little house in Nowhere. It’s something I have done several times. This time? The wiring is old. Anyway, I couldn’t connect the new thermostat so I reattached the old one. Now, the cool is the heat, and the heat is the air conditioner. What did I do? Heck if I know.

  • Flying. Now that I’ve tamed some of the anxiety surrounding it, I have discovered I hate flying. It could be the latest medication I have been given, but I can’t sit still. At all. Put me in a tin tube and I’m extremely fidgety. Thankfully I see my pill pusher soon because something has to go.

  • Sitting inside our little house in Nowhere watching a ton of fireflies out the window. We have them in Georgia, but have only seen that many at once while on a trek to photograph deer in a national battlefield park at dusk.

  • Watching the different type of parenting styles while in a restaurant. There was the mom and her three kids. She with her wine, her kids using electronic devices and acting out–one knocking his pop on the floor splashing the back of my husband. She continually barked at them. The mom and dad with their two kids using a paper and pencil to keep the kids occupied. No issues there. Then…the two moms with four kids between them, one mom grabbed the candle right off the bat, blew it out, and moved it from their table. A prepared mom for sure, reminded me of what I used to do–avoid all types of distractions. The only thing the mom forgot to get rid of was the container full of chopsticks. Which became toys.

  • Manipulating the shower door guy into changing the date to measure for the new surround. You know, that honey and vinegar type of thing. Hopefully, that means when we return we shouldn’t have to wait long to be able to use our newly tiled shower.

  • Finding a dress to wear to our daughter’s graduation. I haven’t worn a dress in about 10-15 years. The hard part is going to keep my legs from getting massive bruises or scratches on them. Oh, then I suppose I will have to find some shoes I can wear without toppling over while wearing them.

I hope you find something to make you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Sunday's Smiles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday with April #3

  1. aviets says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy! I’d say your work on the thermostat was just fine – if you KNOW that heat is cool, and cool is heat, no problem!

    • April says:

      I don’t know….now off is cool, which is fine for now, but we are concerned for the winter. Crap, my endeavors always seem to cost us more money. I’m not going to touch anything that a piece of yarn isn’t attached to. 😀

  2. joey says:

    Different parenting styles, indeed. Always entertaining. I especially love to see how people in other cultures rear their children.
    We lived in a firefly-less Georgia, so my littlest kids have been enjoying all the lightning bugs here. Our back 40 is spectacularly lit up with them, it’s kinda amazing 🙂
    Can’t you just wear a pantsuit?
    Glad you’ll see your pill pusher, I hate commercial flights too!

  3. carol garner says:

    busy girl!! The kids in a restaurant brings back so many memories..Moving the sugar and everything on the table and keeping your fingers crossed you leave before you are asked to leave..What makes me smile today>>>>>we took care of dories big dog for four days and she is a joy….but after her mom took her home we cleaned the yard up…and I am smiling as our little dog leaves “LITTLE” gifts…
    I’m with you on the airplane thing…..
    soooooooooooo enjoy your posts…xoxoxo

  4. Gallivanta says:

    I am smiling in amazement that you are brave enough to go anywhere near wires.

    • April says:

      As long as the main power is off I’m fine. Then I stand by when it’s switched back on with my fingers crossed hoping I didn’t start a fire.

  5. I would have been playing with the chopsticks too. 😉

    If you take off the thermostat and connect the wires in a different pattern, surely ONE of them will be right. Right?

    • April says:

      Believe me, I tried. I should have taken a photo of the original wiring. Next time I will remember to do that. 🙂

  6. mewhoami says:

    It’s always very intriguing and sometimes rather upsetting to watch different parenting styles. The way kids are raised these days has become one of my biggest pet peeves. I hope that through it all, you were still able to have enjoyable evening. It’s almost impossible to have a nice dinner out these days. sigh….okay, today’s venting session is done. 🙂

  7. reocochran says:

    This Sunday I had 3 of 4 grandkids that I started the day with 4. Poor Marley was the one who was getting sick at 5:30 am. I went over later in the day and “moved into my good friend and her husband’s house. Your bumps in the process to learn handy woman skills cracks me up. Sometimes(don’t get mad) I just would like to have a man around who would stop.me from putting up pictures and shelvrs, put together beds. . . Oh yeah, my brothers come through for me! Keep on trying, April. Practice makes perfect!

    • April says:

      I like that my husband helps, but he stands clear until I ask. I envy you for being able to spend time with your grandkids, sorry for the little one getting sick. I hope your move went smoothly!

  8. reocochran says:

    Oh, forgot to say I am “cat sitting.” Hope your week is going well and no problems with your projects. I could see you with an art smock, large canvas and a big paintbrush. Do you ever think of art as a hobby? 🙂

    • April says:

      I don’t paint because I can’t get what I see from my head to my hands without instructions. Oh…was Marley the cat?

  9. I used to blow the candle out at restaurants as well April! ❤
    Diana xo

  10. Pingback: Friday Pick 163 | talktodiana

  11. Diana sent me! So happy to connect with you!

  12. Love your awareness and observation, especially noting the things that made you smile. Pointing to tender joy, allow a little gratefulness in…ah…Thanks for your fun post, April.

  13. Glynis Jolly says:

    There’s fireflies here in the highlands of Tennessee every evening it doesn’t rain. The better time to see a lot of them is a twilight. Electricity is a little scary to me. I’ve seen Hubby get shocked. Kinda freaky. I love flying but my head isn’t too fond of it. I have to take Dramamine before going up, up, and away.

  14. ittymac says:

    The shoes are key. I wore the wrong pair, hoping to elevate my fashion sense. I suffered.

Comments are closed.