Shhhhh….just listen

There has been a meme I have seen a couple of times on that dreadful social media site, Facebook, regarding listening. The quote reads something like we don’t listen because we’re too busy focusing on our reply.

Guilty.

I’m guilty because I worry too much about saying the wrong thing, saying something stupid….oh, I could go on but it’s called Social Anxiety and I have it. I have learned to observe and not give my two cents. I have learned that keeping silent helps me avoid a wee bit of self-hate.

Lately I’ve been listening to what I’m telling myself and I don’t like what I’m hearing.

However, it explains why I chose friends who weren’t really friends. Why I sabotage myself when trying to shed my 25 year old baby fat, why I see glimpses of accomplishments only to quash them before I can bask in the glow of a success.

You know what else I hear?

I hear that I can fix this now that I know what I’m telling myself. I no longer have to live this way but I need some help finding my way out of a lifetime of telling myself lies.

I have no fear about redirecting my thoughts because I’m a persistent little bugger.

Now….where do I start?

 

 

 

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Shhhhh….just listen

  1. Many thanks for following Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary April.. And its never too late to start changing our way of thinking.. 🙂 And there is an art to Listening.. especially to our Inner voice.. I am also smiling as I am always so pleased I was never tempted to join FB..
    Wishing you a wonderful week
    Sue

  2. Now when you are so far April, it is time to go on. You need to start with the small things and tell yourself, that you really are able to do this or to say this. You do have the power of the words and you are not scared to use them. This could be a mantra 😉
    Did you start with the practice as we wrote about? You can continue to use this every day and then you will learn new about yourself and get the needed guidance.
    Wish you all the best.

    • April says:

      I have been doing the practice Irene. I really have let go of most of what I fear. It’s what I feel about who I am as a person. I need to learn how to love myself….a task I’m working on.

      • Good to hear, that you practice April. Try to ask for guidance after you breath in, let the bad out, then ask for the guidance in you breathing in and be patient and wait for the answers. After you have done this for a while, you should have found out, how to handle this new.

  3. You start one day at a time with one thought at a time.

  4. joey says:

    What you tell yourself is the driving force in your life. Best of luck in changing your inner dialogue 🙂

  5. reocochran says:

    The fact remains, you do try to figure out things and improve your thought processes, April. I admire thus quality in you! Still working on how to silence my inner voices of doubt. 🙂

    • April says:

      We need to learn to treat ourselves the same way we treat others. At least I do.

      • reocochran says:

        This is true of most of us, April. I appreciate this beautiful post, advice and dialogue found here in your comments. I admire how you are starting exercises to listen. I hope to still doubts, fears and listen to the good inside myself. I agree with your saying we need to treat ourselves like we treat others.

  6. I love that quote April, I am SO very guilty of it.

    And what you are hearing….you can always change that channel, even if it’s internal. 🙂

  7. Good ole FB. If you were not crazy already you will be after going there or something….

  8. mewhoami says:

    You’ve already started. Simply admitting this is a step in the right direction. Many people don’t take the time to see themselves, but you have. You can begin now and that’s the beautiful part. For as long as we have breath, we can change.

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    April, this is insightful. I know that I’m guilty of not listening. I’m a true expert at it. :/

Comments are closed.