Sunday with April #2

The following made me smile this week—

  • we have lived in the southern US for 9 years and I went to Waffle House for the first time. Guess what I had? A waffle. A pecan waffle.

6K2A9973

  • this……6K2A9727a

the tile work is complete. We are now waiting for the glass surround and door.

  • dog humiliation. Happy 4th!

6K2A9737

I hope you find something that makes you smile today!

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Sunday's Smiles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday with April #2

  1. April says:

    I don’t go to the Waffle House very often but when I do I always get the Pecan Waffle!

  2. aviets says:

    Your bathroom is gorgeous – I’m happy for you! My husband hits a Waffle House every now and then when he’s on the road, and he says they’re great. I’m glad he doesn’t eat there (or at any other restaurants) very often, though. He’d end up like Jabba the Hut.

    • April says:

      Waffle House seems to be a little heavy with the grease.

      • aviets says:

        April, I don’t mean to burden you and I hope you take this as a compliment…but I’d like to share something with you that I’m not ready to post about yet. I desperately need to follow your example and look for things to smile about. My husband suddenly made a decision to quit his new career. That has completely shattered the earth beneath me for several very serious reasons, and I’m only just barely hanging on at this point. Ironic – I went from a happy family weekend to complete despair in the space of fifteen minutes yesterday. At any rate, the reason I’m telling you this is because I won’t be able to talk to anyone else about it for a few days. I wanted you to know that I’m going to try deliberately focusing on things that make me smile, because if I don’t I’m afraid I will shut down completely. Thank you for giving me an example to follow. -Amy

  3. meANXIETYme says:

    Okay, first of all, that “dog humiliation” picture is so freaking adorable! Good grief. LOL

    Next, your bathroom looks amazing! Way to go. I hope you enjoy it for many many years to come.

    • April says:

      It takes many shots to capture just one I could use of her. It’s a two-person job and is bribed with treats. Thanks for the compliment, but we did this to sell our house in the next year or two. My original plan was to replace a couple of tiles until I found the wall behind was wet and crumbly. I’m sure a home inspector would have discovered the problem. Anyway, it’s fixed now.

      • meANXIETYme says:

        Yeah, but a) you did a great job on the shower no matter what the reason and b) you get to enjoy it for a couple of years!
        Also, I’m in the camp of taking about 20 pictures of the dog(s) and finding one usable one. 🙂 And I don’t even pose them with stuff…

  4. How have you never been to waffle house before!? Lol. That shower looks beautiful btw. Have a great 4th 🙂

    • April says:

      When we first moved here, my kids all tried Waffle House and told us to stay away from them. We believed them. The waffle was good. The tile guy was great! I learned a lot from him and he didn’t mind my 20 questions.

  5. carol garner says:

    you make me smile…xoxoxo

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Well, the beautiful tile work made me smile. I expect a pecan waffle would have given me a grin, as well.

  7. ALL of your smiles made me smile. Don’t tell the dog, he may not know it’s humiliation. 🙂

  8. reocochran says:

    Happy 7th tomorrow! I like 7/7/15 and hope it will be a good one for both of us, April.
    I like the cute pup in party hat!
    Love the tile work!
    My Dad and I used to eat once a month at Waffle House. We would order pecan waffles with bacon.
    I like the pecan pancakes at Cracker Barrel, too. You can order “kids of any age” menu; just one and get real maple syrup and real butter for a tasty dessert 🙂

  9. mewhoami says:

    The shower looks beautiful! All of your hard work has paid off. Great job! mmmm….waffles! Sounds delicious! Unfortunately, we’ve decided to avoid the one here after realizing (from our one and only visit there) that it’s run by hoodlums. “Come in today for your free waffle! And if you come in within the next three hours, we’ll throw in some heavy bass to vibrate your glasses. But wait! There’s more! Come in after 9pm and experience your own drive-by shooting!”

Comments are closed.