I Didn’t Realize How Empty the Nest Would Get

Finally, the doctor posted the brief reading of my CT scan on the patient portal. I can tell it was a rush job and I have little confidence in it. I’m choosing to believe that the statement, no recurrence of cancer is evident, is true.

There—I’m still a bit mad, but I’m done with the worry. While I think that anxiety will never leave completely, I refuse to let it rule my life on this particular topic. My doctor has told me to stop living in 6-month increments, and that I shall.

My husband is out of town and I’m in a big ass house with nobody but the cats and dog to keep me company.

We have a Jack-and-Jill bathroom between two of the empty bedrooms and have been taking showers in there until our shower is finished. It’s the spooky bathroom. Our youngest son believes it’s haunted because odd things have happened in there. Pop bottles swirling around, the feeling that someone shoved him, and who knows what else.

I have to say I semi-witnessed one occurrence. He was taking a shower while we were out and he had his music jacked up so that he could hear it. As we unloaded the car I was about to tell him to turn it down a bit when all of a sudden it got quieter. I was happy because it saved me a trip up the stairs.

Later he asked if I turned down his music. No, I had not….creepy. Now I’m in the house alone, taking a shower in that bathroom wondering if a spirit from the Civil War is watching me shower.

As for our guard dog mastiff, she lies outside our bedroom door at night, but I’m positive any intruder could walk right over her. Unfortunately, she is becoming a very old lady. While she may look scary, she doesn’t have much umph these days.

So I go to sleep hoping that a spirit from the Civil War is guarding my door.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I Didn’t Realize How Empty the Nest Would Get

  1. I swear I was in a haunted bathroom once in wahoo, ne every time I closed my eyes to splash water on my face I was certain when I opened them I would see a little girl with long dark hair standing behind me. I could only see her when my eyes were closed. It freaked me out sufficiently that I refused to stay in that upstairs bedroom and the next day the guy who owned the house told me about how the family that owned the house before him had lots of death in that house. Angry grandma died in the room I was supposed to sleep in and the mother had died too somehow and so the father had drowned his daughter in the bathtub up in that bathroom before hanging himself out in the garage. I swore I’d never go back there, that entire city is creepy.

    • April says:

      What a history of that house. When I was a teen we lived in an old house in Washington state. I would never stay downstairs at night because I always had a creepy feeling. Since the house was old, it had a foyer that I would have bloody nightmares about. I never knew the history of the house but I was so happy that we moved.

      We live right on the edge of the Civil War battlefield at Pickett’s Mill. We have such stifling heat and humidity right now and this is the time of year Sherman was marching through Georgia. I can only imagine what it must have felt like for the soldiers with their uniforms and bugs everywhere. Maybe one wants to take a shower. 🙂

      Oh! Any town named Wahoo sounds creepy.

  2. aviets says:

    That really is one empty nest. That’s how I felt last weekend – my husband didn’t make it home (he was in Georgia!), our son was out of town for a wedding, and our daughter stayed over night across town. It was just a little too quiet. We don’t have any suspected ghosts, but I don’t have a nice, cozy dog to hang out with. Hoping you get a good night’s sleep tonight!

  3. I believe that spirit is. And your dog. As long as someone looking at her “thinks” she is scary, her job is done!!!!

    I’m still peeved about the way you were treated about your test results.

    • April says:

      Me too. I have recognized how online we have become and I think my doctor had no doubt that she would have her information. As far as the radiology department that was closer to home? No longer does closer to home equal better place to go.

  4. reocochran says:

    That spooky bathroom needs to have a seance or some sprinkling of herbs or something, April! Yikes! I do kind of like a spirit who listens to the “mother of the household,” though. It read your mind. This should be reblogged at Halloween with more examples, unless you can send me off to one you already wrote and I missed it? 🙂

  5. mewhoami says:

    That would be a bit freaky!

  6. suzjones says:

    Ugh. I’ve got a few ghost stories of my own I could tell. I hope you’re enjoying the peace and quiet.

    • April says:

      I am enjoying the peace and quiet. Yesterday I received a phone call from our youngest. He only calls when he has ‘unusual’ information—like he ran into a deer or some other awful experience. He broke my peace with the phone call, but it was only to tell me about a weird experience….thankfully!

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Shivers down my spine!

  8. joey says:

    I don’t much mind spirits, but I can do without the unhappy, interfering ones.
    My friend True had a haunted bathroom. She could only hear the little one crying, but I could see the little toddler child, must be a hundred years old by now, I think an adult drowned him. Plus there was an old grumpy man from the late 70’s or early 80’s — but worst of all, some dark THING. Ugh. I’m glad she moved.
    I’m thrilled you won’t live your life in 6 month increments anymore, so very pleased for your results, but I still can’t get over that scan mishap!

    • April says:

      Okay, now I’m really not wanting to take a shower….can’t wait to have ours finished. Maybe I’ll head down to the basement shower. Yeah, I’m still mad, but I won’t let it happen again.

  9. You can clean your house for spirits April, if you wish to. I’m sure that your wonderful old dog will react and take care of you, if she needs to. How do your cats react to this bathroom? I would bring at least one, when I would visit this bathroom. Cats can see spirits much better than we can. Wish you all the best 😉

Comments are closed.