Sunday with April

During my rendezvous with Dr. Chill this week, I began our session with my whine, whine, whining about how frustrated I am with myself being able to stick to my goals. As she kept me talking, I recognized what I have accomplished.

Yes, I set a goal to get up at the same time each day and go to bed the same time each night. We mostly get to bed the same time, and I wake up before my goal time, but I’ve reached that goal of getting up the same time each day. Hmmm…that one got by me and I didn’t pat myself on the back for that one.

So…here are some other things I’ve accomplished and poo-pooed because I was so busy focusing on other, negative things.

6K2A9706

A blanket. The first of probably quite a few because I had a fear that neon green yarn would sell out and I have a mini hoard I have to knit up. The colors are the Seattle Seahawks colors. I can’t wait for football season!

6K2A1443

 

6K2A9713

Socks for my daughter – which I have to get in the mail for her, but it’s summer and I don’t think she’ll be wanting to wear such warm socks.

I have taped and mudded (is that the correct word?) the seams of the sheetrock in our bathroom—waiting for the tile guy to get here. He will be here this week!

6K2A9709

I made this little table to use outdoors. It just needs some stain and it’s good to go. It has a little wobble to it, but I suppose that adds character.

I’ve learned some new things about wood and why I can’t seem to cut a straight line.

I’ve almost reached my goal of being patient and to stop trying to rush things.Β A job well done is worth the time.

Look how long it has taken me to perfect myself. πŸ˜€

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday with April

  1. aviets says:

    I LOVE that blanket, and the table! And you’ve been mudding? You are so skilled. And I’m glad to hear the tile guy is supposed to come this week. We’ve had almost nothing done on our project in the last week and a half, and I’m getting really nervous about it getting finished. Between having his girlfriend in town and really hating the mudding process, our son has really stalled out. We’re only about halfway through the whole wall-prep stuff, and then comes all the priming and painting, which will take several days. And I’m really worried that he won’t have the skill to sand the drywall compound adequately for a smooth, paintable surface. Bleh.

    Anyway, how great that you were able to identify all your awesome successes!

  2. I admire what you have achieved. I love ‘creating’ and admire everyone’s creations. πŸ™‚ I think we tend to dwell on what we didn’t manage to do because we worry about if we will, if we can, etc…. So now that you’re done worrying about what you didn’t do that part’s all done! See, another achievement. πŸ™‚ The worrying part is done for the day.

    • April says:

      Thank you. I just need to stop myself every now and then to see what I have been doing instead of what I haven’t.

  3. carol garner says:

    beach blanket bingo…I do believe you have DONE a bingo this week…I will pat you on the back..xoxoxo

  4. Again… thank you. It’s a classic tale – if we focus on the “nots” then there isn’t a goal to strive for. And by goal, I like to think it’s something out there toward which we aim. It is not at all important that we hit the target – just that we aim high and achieve some near hits.
    Love the green, btw!

  5. Elouise says:

    I’m still reeling! Your accomplishments are awesome. I love all the photos, and especially the pile of neon green yarn!
    Elouise

  6. reocochran says:

    Nice job letting it all out with the doc and sharing some excellent and cool projects. I love you Seahawks blanket, April. Thanks to the neon “greedy hoarder” you are, we shall see more of these!
    And don’t you think I didn’t have to check this 3 times to make sure my cell phone which thinks it ‘knows’ everything didn’t turn this into a much more derogatory set of words. Ha ha!

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Gorgeous blanket, April. And you made a table, too. What skills you have. Impressive.

  8. Glynis Jolly says:

    You’ve always been fine the way you are. Don’t you know that yet? Learn to like yourself, okay. ❀

Comments are closed.