Using a new definition for positive thinking

Focus.

I have used the word many times. In my mind, positive thinking meant placing high expectations on myself to be Ms. Perky-Happy Pants.

Imagine the self-hate created when I couldn’t be Ms. Perky-Happy Pants all the time. I now realize how silly that definition was. It wasn’t until I changed my way of thinking to focused thinking.

…..and I didn’t recognize that I was continuing to focus on what I wasn’t accomplishing (the negative) instead of all the little steps I was accomplishing (the positive).

Yesterday I went to the grocery store, and to see Dr. Chill, who helped me recognize what I was doing to myself. I cooked dinner–a healthy one. I woke up before a goal I had set to create a morning routine, and I binge watched a show on Netflix as I knitted, trying to keep my mind off of my scan results.

I breathed.

With the exception of breathing, I could have pushed all the other things I did today–the last week–the last month–to the ignore pile.

No more.

I will focus on what I accomplish each and every day. Looking for beauty or something to smile about has become second nature to me, just as the negative thinking was.

The focus of my attention is being redirected.

About April

I'll come back to this when I find out who I really am. I've been through some extremely rough patches but they have made me a better person. I blog if my brain is functioning first thing in the morning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Using a new definition for positive thinking

  1. aviets says:

    And once again, you blow me away. You can do this!

  2. reocochran says:

    Just remember, April, no one can be perfect! I recently used some bad language and a fountain of bad thoughts poured out. The friends who were there, said comforting sords: “It’s about time you let that out, Robin!” Focus will be be my source of concentration until I need to vent again! 🙂 🙂

  3. This is helpful. Thank you.

  4. babysteps22 says:

    I needed this. Thank you 🙂

    • April says:

      Yay! Two people today. I wish we all didn’t need this type of pep talk, but reminding ourselves to stop focusing on what isn’t going right helps to see what is. 🙂

  5. Gallivanta says:

    I needed to refocus today. Kinda did okay with it. I enjoy being a Ms Perky Happy Pants but it’s not realistic to expect to be like that all the time, as well you know.

  6. mewhoami says:

    Good for you April. Placing our focus on the things around us and being present can certainly help us to live a brighter, happier day.

  7. Elouise says:

    I’ve missed visiting your blog for a bit. Glad to be back, and happy that your positivity campaign is still working for you–even when you have to look for things that make you smile. If it’s any help, you make me smile!
    Elouise

  8. Since Z moved in I find myself so much more anxious and negative and I really struggled to find anything to put on my “what do you love” list because I couldn’t focus on anything but the stress. It’s scary sometimes just how easily you can succumb to the dark side. Thank you for your post today. It was a much needed reminder. 🙂

  9. You are ABLAZE with positive. I hope you know that.

Comments are closed.